Transitions in Paradise - Moving from one to another.

in #travel6 years ago

Not So Subtle Differences Between Two Paradises!

After a red-eye flight from Manila to Guam, I cleared immigration and customs at the A.B. Won Pat International Airport and headed directly for some freshly brewed coffee at Denny's restaurant. Outside of the more metropolitan areas in the Philippines, it is hard to find brewed coffee and it is usually the typical 3-1 branded coffee flavored drink or Nescafe instant coffee. So, a cup of fresh black coffee was first on my list of priorities. Besides, I had been up all night and needed a jumpstart for the new day. I also needed the use of Denny's WiFi to accomplish a few searches for housing rentals. After about one hour, I finished up my third refill, I got my bill and nearly went into shock. Maybe I have been living in the Philippines for too long because I forgot just how expensive it really is in the west (or in this case, the very far east!) Just for coffee and toast, my bill came to over $7.00, not including the tip. But hey, I did get free refills! In the Philippines I would have felt robbed if my bill was over $2.00 (P100). In reality though, I was really using Denny's for the free WiFi, so I didn't mind. I had about a half-dozen rental leads and I was ready to go.

Dennys coffee.jpeg

At 4am, this is Liquid Gold!

First thing I needed to do though was to get a phone. I picked up my wife's cousin Lisa (who is also from Calbayog City, Samar) and off to the phone store we went. There are basically 3 choices for phone service here on Guam - GTA, Docomo, and IT&E. Lisa assisted me in choosing GTA mostly because of the bundled packages they offered with cable, internet, home phone and cellular service. It was the "No Contract Required" option that swayed me. So, I had my first smart phone in over 4 years, without signing a contract. I quickly learned how much technology really sucked (the learning curve on a new phone is so time-consuming), but all I really needed to learn was how to make a phone call. I knew having smart phone was going to make life much easier, GPS and all, and I had to suck-up and learn. I believe as we age, technology sucks more (at least that's what many my age say). In the Philippines, I got by with using the cheapest little Nokia phone money could buy and I rarely used it. I literally untethered myself from my Blackberry phone when I retired in 2013 and had no desire to retain that addiction.

With my new phone in hand, cousin Lisa and I were off to look at a handful of apartments and condos, none of which fit my (our) requirements. After a couple hours of getting the lay of the land (local area), I dropped Lisa back at her house and I was off on my own. It was now almost time for lunch and I hadn't landed anything yet, nor was I any closer to finding something reasonable. Then I spotted a "For Rent" sign at a condominium complex in the heart of town - close to the beach, close to restaurants and shopping. The location was perfect! I called the number on the sign and within the hour, I met the Realtor® and toured the 2BR/2BA condo with swimming pool and tennis courts. I negotiated the price and agreed to all the owners terms and I secured the unit. The next day I would sign the lease and move in... with only my backpack and a computer. But hey - I had a place with central air conditioning, and a view of the pool! It was a good view... and a good start!

IMG_6846.JPG

Nice pool view from my balcony!

No More Futons For Me!

The next few days were more than hectic. I borrowed a well-used futon to sleep on - which did absolutely nothing for my lower back. I also had to set up house, something I have not had to do in many years. I needed pillows, some bedding, a TV, something to sit on, kitchen stuff... oh yeah, and food (I will advise that the first thing you always buy is good toilet paper!) The next few days found me in the discovery mode, moving around the island looking for stores and shops. I was looking for deals on just about everything I would need to settle in to an empty condo.

The next big thing was to find a car. After nearly two weeks of driving a Nisson Rogue rental car (which I fell in love with), I found a 2008 Nisson Altima at the lemon lot on the Navy base. A one-owner car by an "oil-changing-crazed" older Filipina made this the car a good choice. It was well maintained and cared for, and super clean. She had every receipt and document ever produced for this vehicle. I made her a good offer and she accepted. I was almost there. I now had a crib and some wheels. By this time I also had a new TV, with cable, phone and internet working, and life was getting better. I was worn out though and I could finally get some much-needed rest... on my brand new bed, which I found on sale. Over the years, if there is anything that I have learned well, it is to never skimp on a good mattress. In the Philippines, good quality mattress sets are difficult to find, in the provincial areas anyway. Sleeping on that futon for nearly a week reminded me of an old saying that goes, "If you have guests and want to ensure they are Short-Term guests, let them sleep on the old Futon!"

Progress is Made.

During my first week on Guam, I had the opportunity to meet a couple of my blog and YouTube subscribers. Michael, who recently moved here from the Philippines, was already settled here. His wife and family will join him soon he hopes. I spent my first Sunday afternoon with Michael at local beach relaxing and we enjoyed a couple of beers together. Another subscriber, a local Chiropractor and also married to a Filipina, invited me to lunch at a great Mexican lunch spot for one of the biggest burritos I have ever seen! Within my first two weeks on Guam, I scored a condo, a car, a bed, some furniture, a TV, phone, and a basic kitchen arrangement that sustained me until my wife arrived a few weeks later. I was also re-introduced to some local racquetball players and started up that routine once again. I did some diving, snorkling, met with and gained a couple new friends... and I hit a chicken!

man in chicken suit.jpg

No, not this chicken thankfully!

Driving Skills Need Updating!

After driving in the Philippines for nearly 4 years, one thing I have a hard time adjusting to is driving. Take, for example, sitting at a red light for almost an eternity with no traffic. It's insane! For obvious reasons, most folks in the west would have a very difficult time driving without the multitude of signals, signs and lights and Rules of the Road!

Traffic in the west with no rules.jpeg

"No Rules" traffic in the west!

Provincial traffic.jpg

No Rules traffic in the Philippines... slow but smooth!

It's possible that one never gives this idea much thought, but I realize now there seems to be different genres of patience - one for each type of paradise. And although patience here is practiced at a different level than the one that is required to live life in the Philippines, it is still remains a valid virtue. I've always said that "Patience is a virtue that is perfected while living in the Philippines!"

I never had a problem driving in the Philippines - and although it looks really chaotic, things tend to move much slower and traffic just seems to flow good. Here on Guam, things definitely move a bit faster. And when a boonie dog chases a chicken out into traffic, well, lets just say things move a little faster than I'm used to.

At least here on Guam, I'm no longer considered a foreigner, and I won't be held accountable for the Death of that free-ranging Rooster!

Blue wave ruler with minnow.png

Retired in Samar 1.gif

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 31.39% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52