Visiting the Champagne area in France, may 2017

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi,

Just a couple of weeks ago I visited the Champagne area with some friends. We booked an Airbnb in Épernay, just 'below' Reims. The surroundings were amazing, and so were the tastings. I want to share some of our joy with you in a couple of pictures.

Route de Champagne
The Route de Champagne is like a touristic route(s) through the Champagne area. Along the route are loooots of Champagnehouses, with offcourse the tastings. We had really good weather so the surroundings were beautifull.

1.jpg
Somewhere along the route..

2.jpg

3.jpg
More Champagne to be tasted..!

6.jpg

Dormans
When we were driving around, we came by Dormans. Dormans has a beautifull WWI memorial:

4.jpg

5.jpg
Spot the helmet!

Épernay
Since we stayed in Épernay, we took a look around there too offcourse. Épernay is like the capital of Champagneproduction. You'll find some big brands, like Moët & Chandon overthere. We had a cellartour at M&C, wich is I can reccommend to everyone. Here's some pictures again:

7.jpg
Avenue de Champagne (Champagnestreet) is where the big brands are. Very nice and clean area, and a lot of tastings too.

8.jpg

9.jpg
Lots of Champagne bottles, there's actually no bubbles yet in these.

10.jpg
This was actually a present from Napoléon Bonaparte to mr. Moët, back in the olddays offcourse..

11.jpg
This is how they used to get the most out to the neck of the bottle. Nowadays it's all mechanical, except for the Grand Crue, Dom Pergignon.

12.jpg
After the tour there was some tasting to be done... not bad if you ask me!

13.jpg

14.jpg

And than... COOKIES!
17.jpg

Hope you liked this blogupdate, and feel free to reply, upvote and check out my other writings too!

Kind regards,

Remco86

Sort:  

Utterly beautiful post! And I see, I have to return there, what we expected to do anyway, for we are only 250 kilometers away. Thanks for this great post! Upvoting and following you as well!

We will go back to, we have to... 'cause the bottles we brought are almost gone allready haha! Lovely weekend and lots of good tastings. For us it's about a 450 km drive, nog to bad too!:)

We brought 24 bottles, but did not visit Eperney and the big players! We've been at smaller wineries, offering RV park. And believe me, they have really good stuff as well! But next time, we'll be visiting the big ones as well, even if it were only for the photos! 😃😉

Yeah, we bought the most at smaller ones too. Got any tips?

For us, the absolute highlight was Champagne Novack. They do not only have a big campsite and rv-park, but also two holiday flats They have tastings and really great stuff. We bought 18 of our 24 bottles at Novack. He showed us the flats, they are modern and really great.
If you agree, I can put a link to your post in my future Champagne post.

Ow wow, that looks amazing indeed! The AirBnb we were in was quite nice too. I think the owner didn't have it for long yet, cause everything was shiny and new. When I get home I'll send you the names of the Champagnes we bought.

That would be nice, helping eachother out.

Nice post. and nice pictures !

Thanks Jordi!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

That's great, thanks!:)

What a great trip, I love bubbles!! Please feel free to explore and use the steempub tag. It is a tag designed to keep all of the alcohol posts together, easy to find. Cheers from Texas!

Thanks for the tip, I'll try to figure it out!

It's a brand new tag, just over a week old. Getting a lot of beer posts, and I would love to see more wine posts there too! ALso, feel free to promote your posts in steemchat, there are channels for beer, wine, and steempub. :)

I switched it with another tag, so it should be in there somewhere now.

I'm new to Steemit, so all you tips and tricks are more than welcome. I'll try to figure out the chat thing.

I like your profile picture; I bought some Dom Perignon in Épernay too. The Vintage 2006.

nice! 06 is a beautiful wine, really clean, and really great fruit. I hope you enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69