5 tips to make it through a long flight.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

When you're stuck on an airplane for a long time it's important to get as comfortable as possible. If you have a plane with a television, which most of the planes do have nowadays, you're lucky. But if you're unlucky and your plane doesn't have a television, then prepare yourself. Besides being nice to the crew and greeting your neighbor, I'll give you some more tips on how to get as comfortable as possible on a long flight and what you should bring with you!

1. Wear comfortable clothes

If you've ever been on a long flight while wearing tight skinny jeans, you know what I’m talking about. I did this once on a four hour flight and it made me realize to always wear something comfy. Especially if your flight is longer than four hours it's important to wear really comfortable clothes. Think of some loose clothing and shoes that aren't too tight. (I sometimes see girls entering a plane on high heels, but I have no clue how they survive.) It's also nice to bring an extra pair of warm socks on the plane. Because of the pressure your feet can swell up a little, and this way you can get rid of your shoes but still keep your feet warm. But make sure to think twice about this one if you’ve got smelly feet ;-).

d.png

2. Bring some entertainment.

For me this is one of the most important ones. Because I don't really like spending a long time in a small space with many people I always make sure to charge my phone till the fullest. This way I can tune out from all sounds around me. Make sure you up or download a nice playlist and you're set. But also don't forget to bring some non digital entertainment. After a while I’m always done with movies and music. I bring my e-reader (yes I know it's digital too) so I don't have to be that one person with her light on while everyone is asleep. You can also bring a travel book and spend your time well by gaining some more information about your destination if you haven't done this yet.

IMG_1357.JPG

3. Bring some food.

Even though you'll definitely get one or two meals when you're on a long flight, I personally like to bring some more food anyways. The flight food isn't really great most of the times so that's why I like to bring some grapes or other easy travel fruits. Other nutritious options are things like banana bread, cut vegetables or some nuts. I also like to bring some sweets like chocolate or lollypops.

2015-11-16 13.56.09.....jpg

4. Bring a pillow.

A real lifesaver on the plane is a pillow. Sometimes they give you a cushion on the plane, but you have to admit that they are never as good as your own pillow. If you have a place at the window and you're spending your holidays in one place you can bring your own big sleep pillow from home. But if you're on a longer journey and you don't have a place near the window, then bring one of those C-shaped pillows you can put around your neck. They're great for sleeping in a plane and if you're going to be on long bus or train rides during your journey!

20151217121355 (1).jpg

5. Keep it fresh.

If you spend ten hours in the same spot, you may feel a little dirty after a while. That's why I always bring a toothbrush and some wet wipes with me. You can take them to the small bathroom and freshen up a bit. Especially if you're going to have sweets or chocolate it's nice to be able to brush your teeth. Also, if you wear make-up try not to wear too much when you're on a long flight. Just put on a little bit of make-up to keep your skin happy and able to breathe.

IMG_1747.JPG

I hope you enjoyed reading and to see you back next time.

Lots of Love,

Marleen

Sort:  

Great advices! I usually have long term flights from Spain (where I live) to Argentina (where I was born). For me the most important of all is to travel confortly. So I never wear heels when I travel (well, I never wear heels in my day-to-day life hahaha).

Great content, I follow you now :) Regards

Ahh that's nice you're from Argentina! And that's true, sitting in the same spot for quite some time can get very uncomfortable, so we got to get as comfortable as we can right:D and thanks, i followed you already, seems like you got some nice posts.

Ohh what a knowledge tip . I will use that tips when someday i get into flight . Thank you
@reisronddewerld

Happy you can use my tips!

Upvoted. Can you follow me too ?

I take a mild sleeping pill for the really long (Trans-pacific, for instance) flights to help me rest...

Yeah i know more people who do. I don't really like the pills, makes me feel like my sleeping rythm gets messed up or something. (which it also does without pills haha)

When I get to Asia, which is 12 time zones away from home, I get over jet lag quickly by taking a mild sleeping pill first two nights along with a melatonin pill. And my body is totally adjusted by day 3! Better living through chemicals! :)

Sounds allright! because i also have to deal with night shifts i'm kind of used to a messed up rythm. So i just sit out my time haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49