5000 mile road trip with my 91 YO father and sister

in #travel7 years ago

My sister, 91-year-old father, and I decided to make a great sweep of the western US by a car, visiting some of our favorite places that our parents took us to visit when were kids. We did the Badlands and Mt. Rushmore in SD, Devils Rock, Yellowstone, the Grand Tetons in Wyoming and Glacier National Park in Montana. We even enjoyed cutting through the corner of Nebraska and seeing the miles and miles of Sunflowers ready for harvest.

I don't think we turned the radio on one time. We laughed and talked the whole trip. My sister and I played one of those stupid road games that kids play when on long road trips. The first person to spot a teepee gets 5 points and 2 points for a white horse. We are still giggling about it and sending pictures of white horse and teepees to each other. I am so thankful that my parents took us to see all of those wonderful places when we were young. I am especially happy that my sister and I got to do it one more time with our dad.

Here are some of my favorite pictures.
We played tourist and took selfies of ourselves everytime we crossed a state line

My sister fell in love with this old church building in Nebraska

Cathy is pointing to the Badlands

Mt. Rushmore Selfie

At Glacier Park with Cathy

My cool dad with a heard of elk behind him

Beautiful Mountains in Glacier

Geysers and Waterfalls... there is no place like Yellostone on Earth

Great local Beer

Old Faithful Blows

Tetons in the distance

Sort:  

What a lovely family trip, your dad sure looks like he's having a great time

Congratulations @recruiter! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60