Traveling lessons: The things I learn as a solo female traveler

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

As a solo traveler, I have been asked so many times “why on earth I would travel alone?” Some people think it’s really brave of me to go out there and explore the world. And some of them think I’m utterly nuts because it’s a dangerous world out there. “Where is the fun in traveling alone?” Here is why I do what I do and I love what I’m doing. This is what I learn as a solo female traveler:

23414612_1748855538459206_1346680931_n.jpg

Learn to depend on yourself

As I solo traveler I really learn how to depend on myself. If a difficult situation arises I have to find a way to handle it with care. I have to remind myself to not stress out and that there is always a solution for everything. This makes me feel really flexible. What I also noticed is that you have a greater tolerance when things are ‘different’ than you are used to. It’s because you immerse yourself in different cultures and people. You try to understand people with all sorts of different backgrounds and visions. Traveling alone makes me also feel very responsible for every decision I make. I master my own time and money wisely. To learn to depend on myself gives me more freedom because I’m in charge of my life. I’m more confident now that I have ever been.

Friends that become family

One of the most beautiful things about traveling is the people I meet along my journey. I have made beautiful long-lasting friendships with people from all over the world. I also realized that I can love people really easily without losing myself. In other words; when it’s my time to leave a place. It will never leave me empty because I learn to give without expecting anything in return. When I’m leaving a place I’m feeling thankful that I was able to meet new friends that feel like family and that I had the chance to learn from them. I truly believe there is a lesson for everyone you meet in your life so I only want to bring good vibes wherever I go.

gili naggu.jpg

Finding yourself through solitude

Of course there are days when you find yourself lost and confused when traveling. I use these moments to really get to the core of my own fears and confusion. This is the time when I can find myself through solitude. To really love every messy part of me and be patient with myself. It’s also a great reminder that you can reinvent yourself as many times as needed to. You learn to be comfortable with being alone without feeling lonely. Traveling really gives me the gift of understanding my own rhythms and time to stand still to reflect. It’s easier to face my fears outside of my comfort zone.

Intuition level on point

Traveling gives you a sense of sixt sense. You learn how to read people to see if they are genuine or not. You feel when it’s time you have to duck for cover or when it’s OK you can trust a person. I like being open but I had to build some serious intuition skills when it comes down to meeting new people. Especially when it comes down to being a woman. There are wolves in sheep’s clothes everywhere. 😉

The first thing I do is checking someone’s eyes. They say it’s a window to the soul and it’s so true. It’s also really fun to observe people’s eyes in a not-creapy-way. 😉

DSC02648.jpg

You will learn that the world is not a dangerous place after all

When I’m watching the news I get so frustrated. It’s always like the world is going up in flames. ‘Bad and good’ people are everywhere and I think it’s really important to create your own view of the world. Yes I know capitalism is destroying our planet and people…but it’s time we start building bridges instead of bombing the fuck out of them. And see how we can make positive changes in this world.

Sunkissed kisses from Bali, Indonesiaout here soul searching steemit.jpg

Want to vibe some more?
http://www.littlerebelbuddha.com
http://www.instagram.com/littlerebelbuddha
http://www.facebook.com/littlerebelbuddha

More little notes, spirituality, travel stories and empowerment curated for the free thinkers and lightworkers out there.

@rebelbuddha

✨❤️👽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87