Let Travel, Marketing, Gardening and Food Touch At Your Table With A Trip To Brambleberry Farm. It's Stewed to Perfection.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This is a bit of history in the making. Brambleberry farm is the first location that @knarly327 and I went with our new Steemit car magnet. I was especially excited to officially take my personal Steemit.com advertising initiative on the road.

 In full marketing mode, I wore a little t-shirt that says: "Why Don't You Blog About It" and off we went.

  

Brambleberry Farm is located just outside of the small village of Wooler, Ontario Canada. In Canada we have a form of travel known as agri-tourism. There are marketing initiatives funded by the government at the provincial level which promote traveling to the farms whose owners want to open their doors to the general public and sell their produce right at the farm. Brambleberry Farm is one of these participating farms. There, you are invited to "pick your own" produce or you can buy their produce already harvested. All the produce is sold by weight. There are different prices per variety of berry, meaning that the strawberries are a set price per weight and blueberries have a set price per weight. All berries "picked by you" have a lower price per weight than those already harvested. This encourages and rewards people for getting outside and harvesting their own food. It definitely strengthens our relationship with the food we consume because you learn where your food comes from and what's involved in producing it. Let's go shall we?

  

The farm itself is owned by a wonderful lady named Kerry Copestake. 

Brambleberry Farm sits on 40 acres and grows strawberries, raspberries, cherries, blueberries currants and rhubarb.

The rhubarb that I am holding (the long red-green stalks in my right hand) is a special variety called "German Red". It is prized for it's tangy, pucker-producing flavour, which is wonderful when used as a filling or topping on desserts.

Kerry told me that she acquired the root structure for this particular variety of rhubarb from an elderly couple who operated a fruit and vegetable farm in Nova Scotia, Canada. (That's approximately 1500 kms away from Kerry's farm.) Before they retired from farming, they asked Kerry if she would like this particular plant genetics and she jumped at the chance. I am glad that she did because this rhubarb is fantastic! Rhubarb is actually considered a herbaceous perennial, but when it's stewed and combined with honey or sugar it is treated like a fruit because of its taste. Rhubarb's leaves are poisonous but the stalks are not. Although rhubarb is not related to celery, the stalks are very similar and generally rhubarb harvesting happens from mid-May to mid-June, in my region.

Here's a picture of it, growing in my own garden. (I just planted it this Spring, so I won't be harvesting my own until next year.):

   

Rhubarb can be an invasive plant species in a garden so I will be staying on top of this particular planting. If left unattended a patch of rhubarb will keep growing and it's not uncommon to see large sections (8 ft long by 4 ft wide) growing in Canadian gardens. Rhubarb makes an excellent addition to jams made with berries and it also freezes very well for winter storage if you have freezer space available.

At Brambleberry Farm the strawberry harvest is now in full swing. It started on June 15th this year and is expected to wrap up around July 10th. At approximately 3 weeks, the fresh strawberry season is relatively short. Raspberries are expected to be ready for picking in mid-July and blueberries are expected to be harvest-ready at the end of July.

Here I am in the strawberry section. Behind me are rows and rows of other strawberries and strawberry pickers, anxious to stock up on these beautiful berries, which are absolutely perfect this year.

@knarly327 took these videos and uploaded them to his YouTube channel (Scrap Fe) on June 24th, 2017.

For more information about Brambleberry Farm, you can visit their website at  http://www.brambleberryfarm.ca/

  

The locally grown strawberries and rhubarb are second to none this year.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

I'm enjoying the fresh fruits of summer with a Brambleberry flair.

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

It looks like you had a great day! Love your car by the way!

Thank you @kus-knee it was one of the few days that it hasn't rained here.
I have a lot of fun in that little car and now, even a bit more. lol!
I'm considering having the whole thing wrapped because there isn't much metal on the body panels which makes affixing a magnet almost impossible and I have to be careful not to lose it. Other option, buy another car. Hahaha!
It might just happen. :D

You actually had Steemit magnetic signs made up? You're a real hard core Steemer!

Hahaha! No, I won it!!! Still pinching myself.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebeccaryan/theprophet0-s-blog-vote-get-paid-car-magnet-campaign

It's the first post that I have made that has generated over $100 SBD. (I shed a few tears.)

@rebeccaryan
I finally was able to be on your blog before most of the day and time was gone.
To see and watch the lastest from our Steemit friend Rebecca.
Your strawberries are lovely. And the other berries will available before too long. Very healthy for you and @knarly327. Fresh is best, goes the saying.
I will soon be driving to a place I found just last year. .lane southern orchards
Peaches. OK Why lie? Not for the peaches, but for the peach ice cream. Ha ha
Your leading to good fresh food for us is what your blog is about.
Helping us Steemians. And if you will permit me? You are one of the very best.
Your Steemian friend.

Francis

Thank you @francisk!
Please take us all for the best peach ice cream in your area. I would love to see the southern orchards and you and Pat eating their ice cream. That's a great story. :)

Rebecca
Just a little trip. From here, it is about 430 miles. I don't know what that is in kilometers?
I will be going that way in my move. It is in Georgia. At the 142 mile marker exit.
Lots of watermelons, corn, pecans, peanuts, peaches, etc. are grown in Southern Georgia. Lots of farming south of Macon Georgia. I didn't want to violate your blog with web links.
Anyone can find it with the information I already put on your blog.
Thank you for your kindness. I appreciate it.

Francis

I think my favorite part is the shirt "why don't you blog about it". I might need to get one of these (with the addition of sleeves for me).

Thanks for commenting @moneybags! I can see all kinds of logoed gear in the works.
(I just love your name.)
Welcome to the platform. I have followed you. :)

I see some strawberry rhubarb pie in the making.... Looks great! I'll keep my eye out for you on the road ;)

Hi @jeffjagoe! Yes, it's coming...not pie exactly but another dessert that is asn equally great summer time favourite. ;)

Great! You are marketing about steemit.

Doing what I can to spread the word about the platform.
Welcome to Steemit @praful!
I have followed you. :)

Thank you @rebeccaryan :)

I love strawberries, raspberries, cherries and blueberries.

Me too @how2steemit! Our season for them in Canada is so short that we are all scrambling to harvest and put preserves down for the winter months. It's a jar of love to open in the middle of a snow storm. ;)

Good planning .

It is amazing to see that you have a steemit sticker on your car.
Thank you for spreading the word Rebecca!
Great Photographs by the way

Thank you @arckrai! I really appreciate that you have taken a minute to comment and I have followed you. ;)

Great post I love the pics and the steem powered smart car! :-)

Thanks @bitminter! I'm seriously considering having my little car wrapped completely in Steemit advertising. LOL! I do think it would be really cool I just haven't decided if I want to give up the small amount of a sense of privacy that I currently have.

that's so cool

I thought so too @hamzaoui!
Welcome to Steemit. I have followed you. :)

Thank you @rebeccaryan

You are most welcome. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85