You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visiting the Noon Gun in Cape Town

in #travel7 years ago

I don't think you want to be in Cape Town today. I hear the storm was really bad.
Upvoted and following you!
Have a look at my post about an abandoned hotel in Mozambique https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@rbfromsa/abandoned-hotel-xai-xai-mozambique, I think you might like it.
Please feel free to follow me @rbfromsa.

Sort:  

Thank for the share, looks like an excellent excuse to head back up there for a couple of days.

As for the storm, I'm in Stellenbosch so I guess we are the more lucky ones.
Apparently shopping centers lost roofs and all kinds of crazy things, 8 people have died and much more have lost their homes.

But in the end, the little know fact about Cape Town is that before it was called the Cape of Good Hope, She was known as the Cape of Storms. The last few days was merely a reminder of the fact.

And as if that is not enough we know have a raging fire threatening one of our most beautiful coastal towns in Knysna...

Ps: I upvoted and followed, I'm looking forward to what you have to offer in the future.

Cape of storms....I remember that from a line in a children's song from my childhood.

I have never been to Cape Town (or Stellenbosch for that matter). I have been to Knysna though and what a beautiful place it is.

Indeed, what a pitty about the fire up there.
My aunt said that it started raining up there about six hours ago so hopefully it will help them out a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54