Car sick!

in #travel6 years ago

Hi friends,

This weekend I went with my wife to Tilarán. This time, we took Bailey with us. She has been fine in short trips but she seems to get car sick during longer trips.

IMG_20180217_131556.jpg
^ Poor Bailey felt bad after vomit. I had to grab her hear until she fall sleep and I had to stay like that for couple hours.

I was wondering if you know any tricks, tips or advise on how to make the trip easier for her.
I think she is ok drinking water in few stops as it gets really hot sometimes.

I need to make her more confortable as I plan to take her with me on future trips and have fun with her. She is so energetic that I can see myself going for a run with her.

Thank you in advance for any suggestion.

Sort:  

Feed her 2-3 hours before you leave. Do not drive more than 2.5 hours. It is good for both you and her to take a break for 30 minutes in 2.5 hours.
Do not carry anything that is extremely fragrant, such as car odor or perfume on the car. Make your air conditioning set well.

I hope your next trip will be easier. 😊

Thanks for the tips! We'll see which one works best :)

You are welcome 😊

Twiglet, our 3 year old Jack Russell, has car/travel sickness too. We tend to make sure the car or van doesn't get too hot and she has a towel etc to make a bed (more like a nest) in her crate. Dogs like crates because it is like a den.

We also like to do small trips in the car for a few days before a long one, she tends to cope better.

Make sure to keep her hydrated and don't make to much fuss over her if she is feeling down.

DSCF2589-50%.JPG

Beautiful dog :) Yeah I guess Bailey is just getting used to car trips (4 months old) Australian cattle dog. In our way back home I let her rest in her 'bed' and it was a bit better.

I totally recommend a crate. Fill it with a towel and maybe some of her basket bedding, she will love it!

Aw poor Bailey. I bet it’ll get better for her as she gets older. Although, the ride to Tilaran is fairly curvy.

Seems like you got some good advice!

Sure thing, I hope next trips might be shorter and easy on her. I'll let you know how next trip turns out.

Fine her a partner and she will just be fine........

The U.S. has the highest dog population in the world. France has the second highest.

Haha. This is relevant...

realy thnx for tip

You just planted 2.24 tree(s)!


Thanks to @raserrano

We have planted already 7198.92 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18440.81
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63713.30
ETH 3389.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62