Hunting for exotic beaches in a kayak! 12/365-day blog challenge.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there steemians!

As promised I went for a further kayaking trip today! And this time I even brought my phone to make some amazing picture! I also persuaded my overly sportive brother in law @lenssen to join me this time. We started kayaking at around 11:10 a.m.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 17.05.35.png

Quite a view for a casual kayak-trip?! Behold the magnificent port of Santo Stefano. Vista fantastica!

Open waters

At first we kayaked along the coast of the island towards the open sea. We expected to find, or rather we hoped to find some amazing unfound exotic beaches (or at least something exciting). But after 1-1,5 kilometer the sea became wilder and the waves kept on becoming higher. This worried me because I brought my iphone (safely sealed in a box with a plastic bag around it though... but still.), and I did not want to lose it (even though it's outdated, hahaha).

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 18.28.49.png

Here we decided to return (for the sake of my old trusty iphone).

Porto Santo Stefano

So... after we turned around (we are such a pussies hahaha..), we started rowing towards Porto Santo Stefano. This direction the sea was more calm, and the view was also beter! So... it was worth to turn around, but it took us another 2,5-3 km to reach the city centre. However, when we arrived in the port of Santo Stefano we made some amazing pictures from our boats, looking upon the port.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 19.19.34.png

Check out my kayaking victory pose (it looks way more silly, than it feels like... haha)!

Finding some treasures

When we returned to the beach house I found a beautiful piece of wreck wood and a part of natural sponge. Both were floating in the water, when my eye caught them! It put both my fresh found relics safe on the back of my kayak, and took them as price possessions back to our beach house. Both are now drying on the roof top of our beach house.

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 18.31.09.png

The hardest part of kayaking... storing them, haha

The trip

In total we rowed approximately 4,5 kilometers, which took us a little more than 1 hour. It was a great exercise, and an awesome way to enjoy the sea and the view! I might do the same thing tomorrow (if my muscle ache is not too bad! hahaha)!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 13.31.35.png

This is the trip we made (normally I bring my tomtom sports watch, but I forgot to take it...)!

Thanks for reading!

If you enjoyed this blog please leave a comment or upvote, and make sure to follow me! I will be posting everyday, as I am doing a 365-day blog challenge. Furthermore, for the upcoming 1,5 week I will be traveling through Italy and Germany towards my homecountry the Netherlands! So expect some awesome travel adventures!

  • I really appreciate all your support <3

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-25 om 17.48.05.png

Now it's time for me to start enjoying this beauty <3 See you tomorrow!

Much love,
Raoul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73