Hiking to the top of the island! 15/365-day blog challengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there Steemians!

In my previous blog I told you that this would be one of my last days in Porto Santo Stefano, but I also told you that I am prone for losing my concept of time during holidays, hahaha. Therefore I looked it up the duration of our stay in my travel plans, and we will be leaving the 30th! So... that gives me 2 full days in Porto Santo Stefano before we will be leaving for Limone in Lake Garda.

  • YEA, more awesome kayaking!
  • Enjoying the epic sea view.
  • Doing some hiking.
  • And of course my daily portion of snorkeling!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-27 om 18.18.35.png

We went for an amazing hike, to the top of the island (220 meter climb!))

Kayaking

Up to now I only went kayaking with my brother in law @lenssen, or alone (poor me… not really haha). However, this morning I went kayaking with my middle brother. So I took my sport watch (yea, I did not forgot it this time!), and we went for a short trip (he is only 13, so we had to take it a little bit easy :p). 1,5-2 kilometers in 40 minutes, while we also did some swimming and battling, haha. We recently saw the pirates of the Caribbean, and I guess our kayaking-adventures made us relive this awesome movie. ”Why is the rum gone?”

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-27 om 18.13.19.png

Bye, bye!

Visiting the city center

And as every morning we woke up without food… (We are such vultures, haha). So that is why I went to the city center, together with my mother, to do a lot of groceries! We visited the local supermarket, and despite we are only here 5 days, all the supermarket staff knows us already (they should, because we always buy half the supermarket's stock, haha). So I guess that makes you stand out…

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-27 om 18.33.10.png

Our booty for today, Arggg <3

Hiking

After a proper lunch, a classic Italian tomato soup, we went for a hike. The beach house we rented is locate on the border of the city center of Porto Santo Stefano, close to the start of a trail. However we did not knew were it went, but we felt adventurous and follow it to the horizon (literarily as the sun was visible through the path).

photo_2017-07-27_18-15-37.jpg

I tried to capture the beautiful view from the top of the island, but as usual my iphone 5s fails to deliver... (The effort counts right? hahaha)

It lead us uphill for an magnificent forest walk, with occasionally some epic sea view! Approximately halfway the path stopped, and we reached a kind of Italian fortress, beautifully located on the hill with some phenomenal sea sight!

photo_2017-07-27_18-17-16.jpg

Even the military appreciates some sea view, hahaha!

Last day

Tomorrow is already our last day in Porto Santo Stefano. We had an amazing time in the beach house! Especially the epic sea sight has helped to make this one of the best holiday experiences I have ever had! If you are looking for a quite, but beautiful place with a lovely, calm, and clean sea, Porto Santo Stefano is your place. But keep in mind it is not touristic at all, so if you are looking for a place with nightlife or a lot of facilities you should not come here. It is still a pure port-town, and that is exactly what makes it beautiful!

Schermafbeelding 2017-07-28 om 17.50.26.png

Behold the magnificent nightlife of Porto Santo Stefano (not really haha, the ice cream parlor is the absolute highlight!!!)

So I will see you guys tomorrow, to do report on my last day. Furthermore I will let you in on our plans for Limone (near lake Garda), where we will be staying from 30 July to 3 augustus!

Anyhow, thanks for reading! If you liked my blog please leave an upvote, or comment! And if you are interested in any of my future post, just follow me! As I mentioned above we will be leave for Limone soon (Expect many beautiful pictures!), and afterwards we will be visiting München!


See you soon <3

Much love,
@RaoulHermanns

Sort:  

well done! ... I need to get out on a kayak !

@clumsysilverdad, thank you! Yea you should. Kayaking is amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64