Back to Asia

in #travel7 years ago

Those wondering where I've been: TRAVELING!

The last few months I've been living out of hotels or crashing on friends sofas.

Thanksgiving: USA

Flew in for a wedding in DC. Hung out, got my friend married, then headed north.

NYC!

Partied it up in Brooklyn and Manhattan for 3 days, headed south.

Philly!

Lots of friends in Philly. Saw as many as I could, went to a burlesque show, enjoyed the shaking, headed south some more.

NC

I hate this state but my family lives there. Since I've been living abroad for quite a while I hadn't seen my mom or stepdad in Ages. Stayed for a week, then back west.

Ukraine

Back overseas again, for all of 2 weeks. Packing, seeing friends, doing lots of paperwork to move my dog. Encountered ridiculous and stupid regulations. Did you know flying from through Belarus to Russia is considered a domestic flight so you need a visa from Russia? Even thought it's totally international? Well, I didn't. And that's stupid. So fuck you both Belarus and Russia. I'm not asking for a visa just to fly through your frozen shithole countries. Got new flight.

Vietnam (Hanoi)

Back to where people at least try and be sane. Seriously, Ukraine is a failed state. I like the people there but the government is worthless and is more responsible for their problems than Russia is, which is really saying something. Anyway... I missed Hanoi but HOLY CRAP has it gotten polluted. There was a nasty smoggy haze all the way out to Noi Bai airport. It wasn't like this 1.5 years ago. Stayed for a week seeing friends and family.

Cambodia

Siem Reap to Phnom Penh to Sihanoukville back to Phnom Penh. Sihanoukville is... horrifying. Go there if you want to drink a coconut, do heroin, and die. I liked Siem Reap and Phnom Penh pretty well

Vietnam (Saigon)

This was my first time in Saigon and we spent New Years here. So far I adore this city. All the insanity of Hanoi and NYC but less polluted than Hanoi and far more walkable. Still cheap, still full of oddball stuff. Just a really good combination. Crime is higher, cops more corrupt, but keep your wits about you and you should be ok.

Where next...? Well, back to Hanoi and Seam Reap to help on the Dawn Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94