My travel story in Brasov, Romania - The Carpathian Mountains

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I like to travel a lot, and that is why I always try to do it and work at the same time.

Last time I did it, was a few months ago when I went to a medical congress for cardiovascular surgeons in Poiana Brasov. Poiana Brasov is placed between the mountains at a distance of 10 minutes from Brasov - one of the most beautiful cities in Romania.

So, because I wanted to go to this congress, to learn from the best cardiovascular surgeons in Romania, I also went to visit all I could around the area I was staying in.

It was exhausting but beautiful!

First, I will show you some pictures from my medical congress. If you are interested in what was presented here, I will make another post about it because I have a lot of pictures and information.

poiana2.jpeg

1. Poiana Brasov

It wasn't the first time when I visited Poiana Brasov, but I enjoyed it. It was relaxing because it is a ski resort and I was here in autumn (if you want to ski in Romania this is one of the best places for it). The views are very beautiful, and you just feel full of energy after you do some meditation here.

poiana2.jpg

2. Brasov

In my opinion, the most beautiful city in Romania is Brasov. I love it. You have many places to see here, and the town itself is fantastic. Very clean and picturesque, not to mention that the city itself is positioned between the mountains.

bv1.jpg

You have the old town where you can visit a lot of old places (citadels, streets). The smallest street in Romania is here and we call it: Strada Sforii.

bv2.jpg

3. Sinaia- Peles Castle and Bolboci Lake

peles2.jpg

I love these two with all my heart. It was the second time when I was to see the Castle and the Lake. (the first time was just one year ago). They are amazing.

peles1.jpg

lac1.jpg

The Peles Castle is an extraordinary building - very luxurious and beautiful. It has a very beautiful and creative design on the exterior and also on the interior- The Royal Family owns it. Probably the most important thing to know is that everything about it has been manually made (windows, furniture, custom airflow and much more).

lac2.jpg

The Bolboci Lake offers such a breathtaking view that you can't leave the place so easy once you saw it. The first time I saw it was in winter, and now it was autumn. Both views are just perfect with or without snow.

4. Rasnov Fortress

This fortress controlled through its strategic position access to Transylvania. Now, it is a ruin, but it still is a beauty. The contemporary image, however, retains architectural elements that can reconstruct the history of a strong fortification.

rasnov1.jpg

The first documentary mention about Râşnov's peasant fortress dates back to 1335. At present, tourists can also visit the fortress and the feudal art museum, where weapons, tools, galleries, vintage furniture, stamps, armors, specific harbors, various photocopies of the documents of that time are displayed.

rasnov2.jpg

The museum also exhibits some unusual objects of our century, namely, a torture mask and a yoke that used to carry prisoners.

Sort:  

I've always wanted to go to Romania. Your photos made me pumped for my future travels. Thanks for posting this! :)

Thank you! I'm glad that you want to visit Romania. It's a very beautiful country and it has many other places to visit. You can find other beautiful places in Romania in another post of mine.

Brasov looks almost like a German old town.

BTW Brasov was named "Stalin" for a while :))

I'm sure he would have burned it down like everything else beautiful..

That part of the town is called "the old centre" and it has been preserved for years for touristic reasons. Personally, I'm passionate about the places that look like this. :D You can give me an example of such a city in Germany?

I was impressedby Marburg when I visted it. Generally, there are some beautiful towns in Hesse, like Wetzlar or Michelstadt. Or South Germany with Friedrichshafen and Konstanz, Lindau, Stein am Rhein, Weingarten and Horb not too far away. Freiburg can be very nice as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60