Where to eat the best gluten free crepes bretonnes while in Spain

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Today we planned to go to the beach in the afternoon since the weather was summer like: 27 degrees Celsius!

However, after a long yoga session in the Turia park for me and a run + yoga for @dragosroua in the late morning we didn't feel so eager for the long trip to the beach anymore. We decided to go for a picnic in the park with some takeaway food + home made salad and then decide what we should do for the rest of the day.

We chose to stay in the city in the Ciutat Vella area and do some more exploring by getting lost in the labyrinth of narrow streets filled with all kinds of small shops, coffee shops and restaurants. We regret nothing!

Yesterday I did some research on where to eat the best pancakes in Valencia. I found an article that recommended a place called Creperie Bretonne Annaick which I had previously noticed on one of our walks and said we should try it. Reading that article where it said they make awesome crepes also in a gluten free version was an extra plus. We got there a few minutes before they were opening, just in time to catch a table outside.

My history with the crepes bretonnes

Ever since I ate crepes bretonnes 7 or 8 years ago, in France, in a small village by the Atlantic, I fell in love with the simplicity and amazing taste of the simple sugar and salted butter crepe. I've been searching for that taste in many other restaurants I've been to but I've never found it.

So when we got to the Creperie Bretonne Annaick this evening all I wanted was to try that simple sugar crepe. Dragos was a bit more hungry so he ordered the Mediterranean one. Plus we found out they also had gluten free beer.

In a short while our food was on our table.

IMG_4418.JPG

Huge crepes bretonnes, delicious and gluten free!

Mine was exactly what I've been searching for all these years since my experience in France. I feel so grateful!

Dragos had a whole meal with his crepe and he loved it. It was like a salad in a crepe, a mix of fried tofu, rucola, pumpkin seeds, caramelised onion and a few other healthy, fresh ingredients.

The beer was excellent as well and the prices were what you'd expect for a restaurant in the heart of the Old Town in Valencia. The simple crepes start at EUR 3,50, the full meals ones at around EUR 9.

Their interior design is quite funny, Dragos noticed the lamps made of old bottles in which we used to buy and store soda water 20-30 years ago. I remember when I was a kid I was often sent to refill these soda water containers.

IMG_4589.JPG

I also noticed something that you can't see in this picture that their walls are entirely covered in hand drawings, as if someone left their kids unattended with a ton of colour pencils at hand. They are probably messages and drawings from the people who came by.

If you go there with kids they will have some colouring pencils at hand and the table top as a blank canvas on which they can practice their talents. Me and Dragos we both had some fun drawing while we waited for the food.

This is the entrance of the restaurant:
IMG_8819.JPG

Another thing I like about this restaurant is their logo which consists of two symbols I'm very fond of: the triskelion and the spiral, that I draw anytime I feel like sketching. I was so surprised to see my drawings had the exact same elements from their logo. I'm sorry I didn't take a pic of that too, but it was very surprising for me.

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 22.37.37.png

All in all, from all the places we've tried so far in Valencia this is one of the best ones for us where we'll surely go back.

So try the Creperie Bretonne Annaick if you're ever in Valencia or in the other cities where they have restaurants, I've just seen on their website they are also in Barcelona and in some other cities.

Namaste


Hi, I'm Raluca. Freelance copywriter, certified Hatha Yoga Teacher 200H. I have an educational background in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.
Raluca round crop  copy.png

Sort:  

Good

It's a great restaurant to visit. Hope you really enjoy yourself @raluca

A wonderful place, you had a good time @raluca !

that's really amazing food photography and nice to see your post here @raluca.

It is a nice blog Like this photos wish you a good time in Spain.

greetings from Berlin

Looks to be a tasty crepe and the restaurant is very attractive as well. Taking note for future trips to Valencia. Thanks for sharing!

What a unique and cool place. Would love to dine there and the crepes are making me really hungry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83