We Made a SCOBY on the Road!

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_20190828_140132748.jpg

Are you a fan of kombucha or ever tried making it yourself? You might be familiar with what a SCOBY is. The SCOBY is a symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast that makes it possible to ferment the kombucha.

Unfortunately I wasn't able to save any of my previous SCOBY when I sold my house. I didn't have time to keep up with them when I was packing and getting ready to move. Since we don't have an address currently I wasn't able to order one which is where I got my first originally.

A month or so ago I thought it would be fun to try and make one in the camper and see if it would come out alright. We found a Natural Grocers store that sold organic kombucha which was the only ingredient we were missing. After getting back to camp I mixed up some sweet black tea with the raw kombucha in a mason jar, sealed it, and tucked if away.

The hardest part of growing the SCOBY on the road was keeping it from tipping over. We moved twice but let the mason jar ride in the truck wrapped in a blanket and it made through alright.

After a month or so now we have a thin little SCOBY to make our first batch of kombucha! I mixed up some last night and got it sealed and tucked away. Hopefully next week we will be able to enjoy some wild Colorado kombucha!

Sort:  

Great work! I need to start brewing. When I move I need to get a couple of jars then will have to source a scoby 💯🐒

I am so excited to try it. This has been an exciting creation process a totally new experience. Thank you for the memories. 😍😘🤗

I have tried Kombucha a couple of times but I had no idea what SCOBY was glad you were able to make some onthe road

I used to make it all the time but trying to eliminate added sugars from my diet... it still has a lot even if it tastes like vinegar lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54