Propane Leak in the Camper

in #travel5 years ago

IMG_20190817_103953909.jpg

A few days ago we noticed the smell of propane coming from somewhere in the camper. Near the door by the heater seemed to be the area it was coming from. I double checked the shut off valve several times but the smell was still strong.

I knew this was a very dangerous problem to have and unfortunately copper pipe and plumbing are not my area of expertise. I thought about just taking it in to get checked out but the closest RV repair shop was booked for 4 weeks out. I decided to take a closer look at it since I had plenty of time.

I double checked all the fittings near where I thought the leak was coming from but they all seemed secure. An article on propane leaks suggested mixing some soap and water in a spray bottle and checking all fittings. I crawled underneath the camper while @scarletreaper turned the propane on and I checked all the connections.

The fitting connecting to the water heater was where I found some bubbles coming from the soapy water. I guess I had missed checking this one with the wrench because it was loose enough to turn by hand. I had @scarletreaper turn off the propane while I tightened the connection and then we double checked for leaks.

I'm pretty sure this was our only problem for now!! I need to work on the trailer lights soon, one of the brake/blinkers is out. Always a little something needs work but we've been able to do it ourselves so far. Last RV shop quoted me $200 an hour!

Sort:  

Good job!

Damn! That could have been a tragedy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42