You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scuba Scribe - Diving the Red Sea, Dealing with Narcosis #2

in #travel7 years ago

I haven't had it that bad for a while. The worst narcosis I ever experienced was in Malta at 45 metres. It was a multi-level decompression dive with two decompression stops at 9 and 6 metres. I found the whole dive very unpleasant and I learnt my limits on that trip. I'm fine to 35 metres then sketchy up to 40 anything past 40 and it's brown trousers time lol

Sort:  

lol! i usually avoid going that deep because i want to avoid multiple decompression stops.

Yeah, I would advise leaving it unless there is a wreck or something that deep that you feel you just can't miss out on lol. The light gets less and less the deeper you go and the marine life scarcer apart from the big stuff. I'm not a wreck-head myself, all about the marine life for me so the only time I ever go beyond 35 metres now is at specific places like at Elephinstone in Egypt where you can see shoaling hammerheads off the plateu. If they're there then it's at 40 mtr that you'll see them. Unfortunately I never got lucky when I did that dive :(

oh man . .hammerheads.. that would be worth going to 40metres for!

For sure. Hammerheads are impressive and very alien looking fellas. I hope to get to the Coco's islands one day to see the massive shoals that accumulate there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42