You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hike Review - Battery Point Trail, Haines, Alaska (Alaska Trip Journal 7/22/2018)

in #travel6 years ago

I thoroughly enjoyed reading about this Hike and all the pictures Carl. I'd love to visit Alaska one day, or even Canada. Wilderness is few and far between here in the UK but we do have some lovely spots, but they're a good drive away from where I am.

I fell in love with (the idea of) Alaska watching a show which was on here when I was a teenager called: Northern Exposure. Have you seen it? I'm pretty sure that the town of Cicely in the show is very much an idealized version of Alaska but it really struck a chord with me and has left me curious to visit. Maybe if I ever get away travelling I'll make it up north.

Anyway, thanks for the views :-)

Sort:  

Yeah of course I was generally aware of Northern Exposure but I actually didn't have a television growing up. Shocking, I know :) LOL That show was actually filmed in Washington state. My neck of the woods in southeast Alaska is very close to Canada (British Columbia) and is part of the same coastal rainforest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47