My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Scuba Diving - Zen and the Art of Scuba

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Now I wish I have the guts to stay in water more than 10 seconds. My friends laugh whenever I tell them that I only like water when it is in my cup. Lol.

On issues of water bodies contamination, sometimes I wonder whether there will be real solutions to it. I studied chemistry in the university and we touch a bit of environmental chemistry (seems like the chemist were the origin of these pollutions), I hope people become more aware of these issues and companies think of how to make materials that are more eco-friendly.

Ha ha @lordjames. Try snorkeling maybe to get over your fear of the water. Once you have watched all the fish going about their business the fear of the sea fades.

Water pollution is massive problem and you're right that chemical reactions play a large part of ocean polution. For example, scientists are just starting to research the effects of plastics leaching chemicals into the water and the effects is has on fish. These are fish we eat! If fish start building up deposited carcinogenic compounds in there biomass we're screwed for eating seafood. Well, unless we want to risk cancer. It is such a wide issue with such global repercussions as a lot of poorer people rely on seafood to survive. Western mind set seems to be out of sight out of mind, which depresses me which is why I want to be part of raising awareness. Thanks for your comment

Great post @raj808 and Steem On!

Thanks mate. I've got more scuba related stuff coming out soon as there was a break from it for a while. It's hard to write all my posts from memory but at the end of this year I should be travelling the world and have just bought a SJCAM SJ7 STAR action cam to record all the Scuba Diving I'm planning. Hoping for a lot more scuba steemit posts and to build the scuba diving chatroom on steemit.chat + discord later in the year with competitions/initiatives etc. Cheers for checking out my post @future24. Looks like you're having a blast in Thailand :-)

Really nice article.. it's educational, inspirational and actually raises awareness of such an important issue - plastic waste in the ocean.

It saddens me when I see and hear about just how bad this really is. I hope that as more people raise awareness of it, more initiatives will come about to help clear it all up!

Wishing you the best of luck with your future of scuba and writing... I am sure you will be very succcessful :)

Keep up the great work and I've no doubt that you will continue to inspire many others along the way.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet

Thanks @hartfloe. Yeah, the issue of plastic is really bad. It makes me teary sometimes when I come back from a dive with my BCD pockets full of bits of plastic- bags, straws and misc pieces of unidentifiable plastic shit. I go one of two ways after those dives, I either become very sad or very angry. But it's not all bad, as long as there are people who care out there in the world there's hope. Thanks for reading m8 :-)

So happy to see more and more scuba divers here on Steemit!

Hi @for91days. Yes, we divers are a special breed, with a special kind of madness ;-) I just visited your profile and checked out travelfeed also. I'm following you now and have just been reading some of your articles. I particularly liked the one about Cabalgata del Fuego. Thanks for checking out my competition entry

So overdue for some diving .. last time was over two years ago. Thank you so much for stopping by our profile. Please consider to join our travel discord server. It would be an honor to have you.

I'll definitely join the discord server @for91days. Be great to meet some new people and promote my travel posts :-)

Its a good hobby...

Thanks @baby07, I think so too :-)

Cool man! Being in the Philippines with so many options to do such activity, I’m so disappointed for not being able to stay longer underwater, it just gives me that uneasy feeling ... though I really really love the serenity it brings

I understand @virgo27. It was like that for me for the first 2 dives in the pool when I was training and to an extent in the first open water sea dive I did in Maya Bay in Thailand. But then on my second dive I saw a hawksbill turtle and a leopard shark. Then all the nerves just flew away and I was hooked, mesmerized by the beauty of the coral and the amazing life on the reef. Thanks for reading and commenting :-)

I completely ... life below is undeniably amazing! The biodiversity is such a great great view!

Good and intelligent post bro. I like it @raj808

He is a very intelligent man I agree!

I am particularly impressed by your ability to read a post just over 2000 words in the space of 30 seconds @luckypower. That's some powerful speed reading, I wish I had that ability :-)

Hahahahaha. These people can just kill your vibes. You spend three days putting a post together. The first three comments is nice post

Didn't I know it's a nice post before posting it?

Ha ha, you are right @lordjames. I try to just shrug it off but it is difficult to get these types of comments in the first 30 seconds when, as you say, a post has been crafted and re-drafted over days. I feel like saying to them - "come on dude, really give the article a read. You may even learn something." Thanks for your support and checking out my post buddy :-)

Wow this is amazing. I wish I could swim in deep waters... Haha, have to get over my fear of drowning first. :D

Ha ha, scuba isn't for everyone ;-) Definitely try snorkeling first to see if you feel comfortable + you can do that where you're not out of your depth. Thanks for checking out my hobby post

I did the snorkeling once and it was fun with a life vest on. :P

My parents dive and I've watched them get ready many times. There is so much you have to know and take into account in order to have a successful and safe dive. I did try it myself once and I didn't feel like it was my thing, but I get the attraction for it.

Thank you for joining the contest, the winners will be announced in a couple days.

With love @anomadsoul & @eveuncovered

Hi @eveuncovered. I get how alien a feeling it is breathing underwater, it is not for everyone. I have ended up in some hairy situations at times but it is all worth it when certain magical encounters happen like the one with the hammer head shark. I am in the middle of publishing a 3 part series about my first liveaboard trip in Thailand and it pretty much explains why I am so enamored of diving. I was extremely lucky in the quality of my first dive experiences. I have done some dives here in the UK, which if they had been my first, I would never have dived again lol. Visibility of less than a meter and ripping tides will put you off quite quickly. Thanks for sharing your insights and experience with your parents :-)

229/5000
It's always good to be here and read your big brother blog.
I never imagined that you were once a backpacker.

Here I have places to dive that you really would be delighted.
I hope we can make plans and dive together someday.


Siempre es bueno estar aquí y leer tu blog hermano mayor.
nunca me imagine que alguna vez fuiste mochilero.

Aquí tengo lugares para bucear que realmente quedarías encantado.
espero podamos hacer planes y bucear juntos algún día.

I hope we'll get to dive together one day too bro. That would be amazing to search the reefs for all the hidden gems of macro life in the corral groves. I'm glad you enjoyed the blog post m8. Yes, I was a backpacker early last year when I went to Yucatan peninsula in Mexico to dive + explore. I was there in may and it was soooo hot, too hot to be comfortable. Like 50 degrees c. I spent a lot of time in the sea just to keep cool ;-)

If you come to Venezuela, you will not be a backpacker, the doors of my humble home will be open for you, you will not have so much heat, at least I have air conditioner in the room.
I want to clarify that you do not have to have a lot of money to dive here.
a most expensive would be the plane ticket.

of the rest, with a few dollars I would do miracle, I have good friends who would take us to my dive sites in their wooden boats.

animate ...!
for me it would be an honor to receive you in my house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80