You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🍞 Central Market Hall Budapest 🍞 布達佩斯中央市場 🍞 #myeuropaplog series 歐洲行旅照片記錄系列

in #travel7 years ago

Welcome to Budapest, my hometown!

Sorry to hear what happened to you. Unfortunately, ripping off tourists is popular here. Also, take care with Taxis. I hate all the taxi drivers here, they are all douchebags, and most of them will charge more when they realize you are a tourist.
Like there was a guy who charged $150 from an Australian girl last summer at Sziget festival for a $5 ride. It went viral in local media.
Besides this, Budapest is an awesome city!
If you haven't been there, you should walk thru the Szabadság-bridge. It's closed from traffic, and usually, there are many cool programs there. It's 5 mins walk away from Vásárcsarnok.

Sort:  

Great! I plan to go back too! :) Glad I did not take any taxi. Szabadság-bridge noted.

Thank you local!!

I took a taxi in Budapest once, and at least I bargained the price before I got in. The number os 0s on the currency and the cheap beers doesnt make it easy to work out how much you are paying!

I second this, @ragnartheking and @deanliu.

I visited Budapest 8 years ago, and I was ripped off by a taxi driver who charged me like $50 for what should have been a cheap ride. Here's what my reaction should have been:

Unfortunately I was coming home from a party, was tired and didn't do the conversion math until the next morning.

The same thing happened to a friend of mine, who was staying in a fancier hotel than me. He got so upset that he brought it up with the reception of the hotel, demanding they took action. And they did: they contacted the taxi company and he actually ended up getting his money back. So there was def no doubt that he had been scammed.

I am sorry you got scammed with your meal. The scams aside though, Budapest is a beautiful city! Looks like you had a great time there. And seeing your images brings back some of my own memories.

Did you also visit the Szechenyi Spa Baths? I LOVED that place. So beautiful, and relaxing. Here's a pic I found from my when I visited the spa:

Szechenyi Spa Baths.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55