White Pass & Yukon Route Railroad – Skagway, Alaska

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, my name is Emanuel from Indonesia. And English is not my mother tongue, so please excuse my English.
Well, this is my first post on steemit, and I’ll write about one of my experience when I’m at Skagway, Alaska.

img00.jpg

There are so many tour package available at Skagway, such as Yukon Dog Sledding Adventure, Private Van Tours, White Pass & Yukon Route Railroad, etc. So my friend and I choose the train excursions, White Pass & Yukon Route.

Halo, perkenalkan nama saya Emanuel dari Yogyakarta, Indonesia.
Ini merupakan postingan pertama saya di steemit, saya bergabung komunitas pada juni kemarin, namun baru menulis tulisan ini kira-kira satu bulan setelah pendaftaran.
Langsung saja tulisan ini mengenai pengalaman saya bersama kawan ketika mengikuti salah satu dari beberapa tur di Skagway, dan saya memilih tur kereta.

The Scenic Railway of the World
Built in 1898 during the Klondike Gold Rush, the White Pass & Yukon Route is a marvel of engineering despite the harsh weather and challenging geography faced by thousands of railroad construction workers.

Mengenai sejarah pembuatan jalur rel, baik tahun pembuatan maupun fungsi pada saat itu.
Bisa di lihat di brosur yang didapat saat mengikuti tur ini ataupun bisa juga dilihat di situs https://wpyr.com

First of all we need a ticket that we already booked one week before, we can get the ticket at dockside service.

Untuk ikut tur ini, kita harus membeli tiket dulu paling tidak 24 jam sebelum jadwal pemberangkatan.
img01.jpg

img02a.jpg
That’s me and my friend, waiting to get the ticket
Foto kami sesaat sebelum berangkat, masih menunggu ijin untuk naik.

When the ticket on hand, we can get into the train. And again, we have to wait about 20 minutes, until all the passengers on board. While waiting they will give us a brochures, map, and bottle of water. Also check our ticket.

Setelah naek ke kereta, kita harus menunggu semua penumpang naik, sekitar 20 menit. Sesaat tiket diperiksa, mereka juga memberikan brosur, map, serta minuman.

img04a.jpg

img06a.jpg

img03.jpg

And there are some pictures that I take as the train headed to the top of the mountain

img05.jpg
I can’t see salmon, at that time.

img11.jpg

img10.jpg
Headed to that mountain

img09.jpg
That’s me

img12a.jpg
That’s my friend and I have to hide his face, or he will get mad :p

img13.jpg

img14.jpg
We can see more snow there

img15.jpg
Slow down before crossing the tunnel and the bridge

img16.jpg
And it only takes few minutes

img18.jpg
That’s the old bridge and is no longer used. And we used the other one, next to that bridge.

Foto jembatan yang lama, dan sudah tidak digunakan lagi karena mengalami kerusakan. Dan jembatan yang baru terletak di sebelah jembatan yang lama.

img20.jpg
Finally reach the destination Yukon Territory, British Columbia. And we can see some national flags there.
But not allowed to get off the train.

Merupakan ujung dari jalur tur ini. Di sini terdapat beberapa bendera negara dan sebuah rumah kecil. Dan di sini kita tidak diperbolehkan turun dari kereta. Kita hanya bisa menikmati pemandangan dari dalam kereta.

img22.jpg

img23.jpg

img25.jpg
That’s the river and it already frozen.

img19.jpg

img21.jpg
This is the end of the railway

img24.jpg

And after we stay for a while, then we go back to the pier with the same route.
There are two departure schedule daily, first 8:15 AM and second 12:45 PM.
And the first one choice is better.
It takes totally 3 to 3.5 hour.

Semua yang terlihat di atas adalah es dan salju, bahkan sungaipun tampak sudah membeku.
Dan apabila bisa memilih, lebih baik berangkat pagi 8:15 AM waktu setempat, untuk dapat pemandangan yang lebih bagus. Secara total tur ini memakan waktu 3 sampai 3.5 jam.

Upvote and follow @ragil if you liked my post, let me know what you think by comment
Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @ragil I have upvoted and sent you a tip

thanks for the tip

Welcome to Steemit!

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Hi @Ragil I hope you have fun here. don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) Cheers @chrisx

still learning, need some guidance. cheers @chrisx

Hi!! Nice to meet you and glad to see more people like you in this comunity Steemit! @ragil

nice to meet you. see you at community @dihoa

Hi hope you're enjoying steem

thanks @primeteks66. follow done

Hello @ragil. That is an increible place. Glad to have you on board the steemit train!!!!

I'm Facundo, travelling right now in Ecuador. Welcome!
@filmtraveller

glad to have you to @filmtraveller Followed. Follow me back. thanks

Hello All #steemian And Welcome To You @sameerThe Latest Towards Success at #STEEMIT & #eSteem ...
I'm also a New Person Want to Get Reward From The Witnees Like @good-karma , because he App eSteem Can We Use Not Just From Website.
Introduce My Name @Asma From #indonesia #aceh. . I Get Info About Steemit From @sallsteem, He Invites Me To Join.

Many Friends From Aceh Joining in Steemit and eSteem, I'm Pleased to Find Lots of Information And New Friends. THANK YOU STEEMIT I LOVE YOU

Hi @asma nice to know you

Hello Ragil - welcome to Steemit ! i am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you and all the best !

nice to meet you too @digital-gypsy

Welcome Ragil to Steemit ! . I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

thanks @khunpoom follow back done

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67