Walking over the Frozen City Lakes of Copenhagen (Søerne)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I was witnessing another wonder of the north when I went for a walk along the city lakes (Søerne), one of my favorite Copenhagen areas. The winter in Denmark is usually pleasantly mild, but it has been unusually cold for several days in a row. When I arrived, the lakes were completely frozen over with solid ice and people were literally crossing the lake from one side to the other.

IMG_8911.jpg
People were walking, running, ice skating, and playing on the ice. Danes just take life easier.

IMG_8914.jpg

At first, I admired the spectacular view from the street and took a few pictures in the beautiful northern winter light. My wife, adventurous as she is, immediately set foot on the ice and tried to convince me to join her. It took a couple of attempts but I finally gave in, thankfully.

IMG_8913.jpg

IMG_8912.jpg
Nothing can separate a true Copenhagener from his bike, not even a frozen lake :-)

IMG_8915.jpg
The little hole in the lake, where swans, ducks, and birds gathered, gave it a very special atmosphere.

IMG_8886.jpg
@raci and @zolli-mouse

That's it, Steemians. I hope you enjoyed this post and maybe join us for a walk over the water next time!

TitleWalking over the Frozen Lakes of Copenhagen (Søerne)
Creator@raci
Main Categories#travel #photography #blog #art #nature #dk #copenhagen #denmark #copensteem
Other Categories#creativity #creative #contest #challenge #photos #blog #life #upvote #busy #free #steemitachievers #picture #amazing #trending #beautiful #awesome #selfmade #originalworks #oc #original #content
CameraCanon EOS 70D
LocationCopenhagen, Denmark

This is an @originalworks post by @raci. Let a fellow Steemian know how you feel about this post by dropping a comment below. I appreciate meaningful comments that show genuine interest.

Sort:  

wow very nice post

Thank you, happy to hear :)

Indah tempat nya.

I was fascinated by a place like this ,,,
Thank you for sharing ....

Thank you, I am glad you like the pics. It is truly fascinating :)

Yes ...
For me this looks unique ,,, because in my country there is never snow ...
And I like snow ...

Haha hope you can visit some time

Okay, I will visit you again at a later time ...

Looks fantastic. I would loved to skate there. We never get snow in South Africa. Certain areas in Winter yes but it's generally not a common phenomenon. Awesome to you guys had fun

I don't like the Winter in the City very much, but I do like snow and ice. Days like this make up for a lot in the dark winter months 😊 I would love to visit south Africa though

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=raci
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=walking-over-the-frozen-city-lakes-of-copenhagen-soerne


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60030.46
ETH 2413.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43