My lavender week in France part #2 : ...A very dangerous road?...

in #travel6 years ago


If you google "Route de Presles, France" the first result will bring you to a link that promises a scary adventure. "DangerousRoads.org" shows us narrow tunnels carved directly into the rocks. Almost too narrow for cars to pass. Was I seriously going to drive this road??

Just watch the video. The story behind it will follow. But only after you've seen the views...

[Music credits: Middlethon - Snowy Day]


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This video was just what I needed. AWESOME scenery!!
The first time I felt the need to rewind was when I spotted a white cross of stone at 1:16. After I discovered that @dtube also has to option to slow down the playback rate, I saw lots of bikers, camping tourists, amazing scenery, those mountains at 3:43 and much more!

That tunnel tho... Just as I was about to ask myself the question what about approaching traffic, a truck appeared...lol......

I have a thousand reasons why I would never be able to do this trip in a car...but on a motorcycle...cause I would stop every 4 and a half seconds to take shots...

Brave of you to do this all on your own and Im sure you enjoyed the thrill of this adventure. Yet another place to add on my travel list :)

Question...Did your GPS work while driving these roads?

Aw, that is so nice to hear! Thank you!! I was nervous for traffic all the way to the truck. Most of the route, there was no room to pass and one of the cars just had to back up. I was soooo lucky that it wasn't busy at all. And that there was just a small space to stop for the truck. And yes, I was very tempted to keep stopping, but knowing that no car would be able to pass my parked car and my gopro recording everything I only got out of my car once this whole stretch. But I have been thinking about doing it again and then just for the photos ;)
GPS: You can always download maps in advance so you can see where you are going. GPS itself I didn't have any issues with.

looks like a great choice of a vehicle, small enough to move aside, and a bit of luck as there was no too much traffic. Interesting road, and it reminded me of my trips to the sea, every time you turned i was expecting the sea view :)

haha, no sea there my friend ;) But yeah, very happy with my tiny car and lack of traffic. A big part of that road wasn't wide enough for 2 cars.

Oh, I love that so much, would love to drive that! Only dangerous if you meet cars going in the opposite direction. ;) Although I wouldn't want to bike it - is that on the TDF route?

I think it is too narrow to be a TDF route. And I was super nervous for other cars....and turned out to be super lucky ;)

Hahah, ondanks dat dit een timelapse is, rij je nog best wel snel in de bergen. Uitkijken ;-)

Het was een Formule1 weekend!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=r00sj3
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=z7n9jvx2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by r00sj3 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79