A January Tradition: Give Love Sigaboy, Philippines

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2800.JPG

Every family has their own tradition like celebrating reunions, going on a trip, or even visiting a relative. I want to share this kind of tradition.


A friend of mine invited me on there hometown, Tibanban Sigaboy. An 8 hour trip from my town. I'm already expecting a countryside town with beautiful view on it. And I said Yes and joined them on their journey. So, we went there and stayed on my friend's house which is cool because their house is similar to my birthplace.


Untitled.jpg

We rest for a while and suddenly my friend's cousin talked to me asking if I'll be joining them. Of course, I asked on what and she just answered me with a smile. I found it creepy. Just kidding. Luckily, my friend brought her camera and she tasked me for the documentation. On my mind, I'm still asking,"Where are we going!?", "What is this for", and "Is there any food? Coz I'm kinda hungry" Haha okay that's bad

IMG_2330.JPG

Due to my boredom I just kept taking a snap with the camera. Slowly, I'm realizing that there is something that I'm currently feeling. Really weird and amazed. The joy of the people here is really amazing. Even on this small town without access on the Internet or either enterntainment places like a bar or something. They already found their FUN which I'm looking for in my life in the city.

IMG_2791.JPG

After a while, we started to travel. We entered this scary forest and all you can see is leaves and grass. I'm really scared on that moment but as a gentleman I act strong. Like a bulldog but my heart is beating fast, like very FAST. On our journey, I noticed the kids that were with us. They are not scared and even some of them holding a snake along the way. And to them that is very normal!

IMG_2747.JPG

We reached the nearby beach and I realized my friend bring some plastic bags with us. I'm still very confused and we stayed under a beautiful tree. A minute later families and bunch of kids running towards our direction. I was shocked. So, I asked my friend, "Hey, is this your outreach program?" but she just smiled and calmly answers me back,"It's a family tradition."

IMG_2766.JPG

IMG_2838.JPG

The joy of the kids really stabbed my heart. I can't explain my emotions on that moment. I can't even hold the camera properly because I'm focused on the kids. While documenting I realized a big thing. Even I'm middle class guy and can afford some stuff for myself. I'm just a rock compare to those kids. Some of them doesn't wear any slippers and you can notice their old shirts. Like, I'm really blind from the start. Those material things that conquered my life were just a distraction to my true happiness. Which is giving happiness to others.

IMG_2769.JPG

IMG_2856.JPG

I'm not telling that I'm just a show off and bragging that I'm not a materialistic guy. Well, some of them have been a big help on our daily lives. But how about those kids? We're always facing our phones every day and night while those kids are jumping on a waterfalls. How cool is that?

IMG_2346.JPG

IMG_2556.JPG

I asked my friend about their tradition and she told me some backstory. But the important part is that they are doing this every year and I just smiled. With a smile on my face I told her if I can come next time and of course she said why not. All I can say is that I'm really blessed. Living on a big city and doesn't having a hard time looking for food. So, I promised myself that I'll come back and next time I'll bring some things that can bring joy to the kids.

IMG_2643.JPG

IMG_2568.JPG

Oh! Sorry, I was very emotional while writing this blog and I forgot to tell you what is happening on the pictures. Actually, they dance all day, sing some modern songs, playing parlor games, having a disco at night, pageant for kids, and joined us with our lunch. That day was the most memorable moment that I have done in my entire life.


Forgive me!

If this is a short blog about the happiness of the kids. I just want to share this wonderful place, Sigaboy. The town full of joy afar from the city. If you want me to make a part two for this blog, please leave a comment below if you do :)

IMG_2854.JPG

Thanks for reading my blog friends! Hey, how about a dare? How about you guys also write about January Tradition? This will be fun I'm sure. Please mention me so that I can read it. Thanks again guys! Spread the love!

Sort:  

Congrats on your newly found passion

Thanks man. Lets spread the love!

Nice, they look happy

Yup! Very happy man! Kids really brings us joy :)

Thanks sir long888! :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @qyugmo to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This is very nice travel diary.
And the children....PRICELESS!
Beautiful photos!
Steem on!

Thank you so much @steemgigger! Share the love also! :)

That is beautiful @qyugmo... Everything about this was beautiful... the story, the way you told it, the pictures, and most of all the kids... What a wonderful thing you realize at such an early age in life... I am so happy to be your classmate and friend. I just shared it on my blog, I hope it helps you some because you deserve it so you can rise and do something amazing in the future! :)

Thanks a lot @davemccoy! It hope this helps your vision to help more people and I can be your help for this. :)

Hello @qyugmo thank you for sharing this story. It was beautiful and inspiring. I would love to see a part 2 so I can learn more about sigaboy!

Great to hear that man! I'll surely do! Thanks for reading :) Share it to others so that they can see this wonderful kids!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Amazing article, @qyugmo! I would absolutely love seeing a follow-up article. These pictures are so full of fun and joy. What a precious time this was for everyone. Thank you so much for sharing these with us.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions on the @mitneb Curation Trail. It will be featured in my daily curation report on 10 JAN 2018.

Cheers!

Thanks @mitneb! And to your channel as well. I'm enjoying my stay Man!

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54