The Creepiest Graveyard on the Planet! - Part 1

in #travel6 years ago

If this graveyard doesn't invoke chilling scenes of zombies popping out of the ground, then I don’t know what will!

graveyard-6.jpg

During my 7 month stay in southwest Pennsylvania, there was a common theme among all of the little townships and villages: graveyards. Lots of old creepy graveyards everywhere!

graveyard-1.jpg

PA is one of the first 11 states to be formed in America, and a lot of those settlers died. These graveyards are well over 200 years old, and many are being reclaimed into the woods.

graveyard-2.jpg

This particular graveyard is by far the creepiest one I found. Nestled on a hillside tucked away in the woods, a clearing bears ancient stones that are rotting back into the earth.

graveyard-3.jpg

These risen graves I find fascinating. I assume that the skeletal remains are above the ground, and the top cover of the graves are shattered.

graveyard-4.jpg

It is hard to say if the bones are exposed due to the debris, and I sure wasn't going to root around to find out!

graveyard-7.jpg

graveyard-8.jpg

But one thing is for sure, they sure are creepy!

graveyard-9.jpg

graveyard-10.jpg

Sort:  

If you ever get to Dresden, Germany, you'll have plenty to look at :-) They have tiny underground crypts.

If I ever make it to Germany, I will have to check that out. I love cemeteries!

YEA you wont see me in that cemetery.

:)) >:)) lololol

Thats Creepiest, is there any ghost there? :( RUUUUN!!!!

how about the next cave sis?, i love your adventure side :)

BTW, already added you to my fanbase (steemauto) even my upvote means nothing :( (still a minnow hah!)

I would imagine if there were ghosts, they sure would be there! I haven't heard of steemauto.

looks like it needs fertilizing nice grave stones i cant wait to die so i own one

well that is a morbid comment! lol! lol!

You got a 18.31% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @queenmountain!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56