A Bar that is only accessible by Lake . . . and hasn't changed a bit from the 50s!

in #travel7 years ago

This bar is something you would see in an old western, but can only be accessed by a 40 minute boat drive!

All the materials used to build this bar had to be barged in, as there are no roads in this mountainous canyon.

This place still has the plastic booths from the original build.

The original owner, Joe, still runs the joint by himself. We helped him out with a bag of ice.

A vintage record player still pumps out old tunes.

And in the very back, there is a decaying old car. The cherry on top!



Sort:  

That's great! Only in America. Where is this located? in Montana?

Yes, in Montana on Holter Lake.

The bar is well maintained.

Amazing post! Is there bar busy? I'd imagine it would be for tourist!

It does get busy, and the poor old guy who runs the place gets overwhelmed. So we help him out with pouring drinks. He also runs out of ice a lot.

The restaurant I work at runs out of ice all the time. I can't imagine how much this guy runs out of it!

I'm assuming hes the only employee?

That's really cool... I'd love to drop in!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks! it is defenitely one of a kind.

@queenmountain
I would think that you have posted one of the most interesting content productions today.
Very unusual to find anyone on Steemit showing us something so interesting and intriguing.
You should get a lot of upvotes for this work. I just love the photos.
If we are looking for something out of the ordinary. And we are.
You show it to us now.
Thank you

Francis

Well thank you Francis.

You are more than welcome. I resteemed it. I hope others do as well.

Francis

Nice post @queenmountain, I'd love to knock a few down in that relaxing atmosphere, and while listening to some vinyl is all the better!!! Up-voted and re-steemed.

Yeah I knocked a few down when I was there lol. Ty!

Beautiful! When I lived in lago de atitlan Guatemala a few years ago, most of the palces are only accesible by boat! Lots of fun, except when the waves get whit washy haha than you just pray you get home!

Yep, when storms roll in here in Montana, its time to hunker down! Was Guatamala only accessible by the ocean? Or a river?

Check out lake Atitilan

That will be my dream home one day. With a plane to fly around! It would be awesome lol

The plane would be a nice touch! It'd have to be one that lands on water as the lake is nestled in between steep mountains. Its pretty cool.

A very nice contribution today is part of my favorites.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89