Yanesha

in #travel6 years ago

While in Oxapampa, I was looking at the various tours Hostal Cruz offered and decided on Tsachopen (Sa Sho Pen) The Yanesha People are located near Oxapampa at the edge of the biosphere reserve in the high jungle of the Amazon. The lady at the tour desk said there was a minimum of four people to do the tour, so I set out on my own, first with a moto-taxi, and then hired a taxi to take me there. It turned out to only be a few kilometers away.

All the pictures I had seen were of the Yanesha People in their traditional dress, back dropped by the lush vegetation of the Amazon. I thought it was going to be like in Iquitos, meeting an ancient tribe out in the jungle – the real deal. Pulling up in the taxi, there were a row of semi-modern houses, and a large bamboo structure for events where many of the Yanesha artisans sell their crafts. The taxi driver and I were greeted at the door of one home by Charo, who was wearing jeans and a sweatshirt, then went back and changed into her traditional dress, before proceeding to show me her handicrafts. It wasn’t what I was expecting, but an adventure nonetheless.

Charo uses natural plants, coffee, and beans to create the natural colors in the clothing she makes.

Below is a hand-made braclet that I purchased from Charo, and will be for sale at: https://oneturquoiserabbit.com/

Project Andina buys direct from producers, growers, and artisans to help support communities on a local level, and foster entrepreneurship.

The Yanesha people are an ethnic group of the Peruvian Amazon Rainforest. Located in three regions of Peru, with a population of about 7,000. Their website: http://www.yaneshaperu.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01