Destination Unlocked! Welcome to the tiny little country!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Hello world of Steemit!

Exactly one month ago my adventure with this amazing platform started!
Yes I am a one month old steemian!

With +363 followers and +1240 posts so far, Steemit has become a very important part of my daily life!
I started rather slowly, trying to understand this completely new world to me and I will proudly say that I am still learning on a daily basis so that I keep on improving myself and deliver the best out of me!

Maconde Road in Mauritius

1.jpg

But today I am not going to make a list of my achievements here, but I will share to you all my tiny little country!

The main reason of this post is that during many of my conversations with my fellow steemians, most of them were not aware of my country! I felt it will be a good thing to make you guys discover this amazing country and hope one day you can drop me a visit!

Welcome to the Paradise Island Of Mauritius.

1.1.jpg

Officially known as the Republic of Mauritius, we are an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kms off the southeast coast of Africa! The area of this tiny country is 2,040 km2 (790 sq mi).

I will not go in details about who occupied the country in the past or else this post will be too long and boring! In a big picture , Mauritius has been a Dutch colony, then taken over by the French and lastly by the British until we gained independence in 1968 and republic status in 1992!

The people of Mauritius known as Mauritians are multiethnic, multi-religious, multicultural and multilingual. English is our main language and French is also spoken by nearly everyone! Our local language is the Creole.

9.jpg

Mauritius is highly ranked for it's democracy and for economic and political freedom. It has a population of approx. 1.3 million only and the religion practiced are as below:

51.9% Hinduism
31.4% Christianity
15.3% Islam
0.4% Buddhism
1% others

It is the 169th largest nation in the world by size! Very tiny indeed!

Check out where we are situated exactly
6.gif

The island is surrounded by more than 150 km (100 mi) of white sandy beaches, and the lagoons are protected from the open sea by the world's third largest coral reef, which surrounds the island.

With this amazing feature, hundred of thousands of tourists visit the country each year to enjoy the beautiful beaches!

8.jpg

The environment in Mauritius is typically tropical in the coastal regions with forests in the mountainous areas. Situated near the Tropic of Capricorn, Mauritius has a tropical climate. There are 2 seasons: a warm humid summer from November to April, with a mean temperature of 24.7 °C (76.5 °F) and a relatively cool dry winter from June to September with a mean temperature of 20.4 °C (68.7 °F).

7 natural colored earth in Mauritius

3.jpg

When it was discovered, Mauritius was the home of a previously unknown species of bird, the dodo, descendants of a type of pigeon which settled in Mauritius over four million years ago. Within 100 years of the arrival of humans on Mauritius, the once abundant dodo became a rare bird. The last one was killed in 1681.

Mauritius was the only known habitat of the extinct dodo, a flightless bird

7.jpg

The major musical genre of Mauritius is the Sega music and it's dance is just a great pleasure to assist!

Usually the men will play the instruments and sing while the women dressed in colorful dresses will dance on the beat around a bonfire!

5.jpg

So how you find Mauritius? You want to enjoy these beautiful beaches? Wanna dance the sega on the sand? Want to have the best holidays ever?

Mauritius is the place to be!

2.jpg

I really hope you enjoyed this little description of my country! Should you plan to come here, don't forget @progressivechef is here to welcome you!

By following me you will discover more about this fabulous country and learn a bit about our cuisines too!

Please do comment below if you want to know more about Mauritius! Should you like the post, kindly upvote and resteem!

Thank you!

@progressivechef

Sort:  

Awesome, my friend lives in Mauritius, it looks like a beautiful place. Thanks for sharing

Oh that's nice to hear @morkrock! It is indeed very beautiful! Hope you can visit one day!
Cheers

WOW...UNDER ONE MONTH YOU MADE SO MUCH PROGRESS AND FRIENDS...YOU HERE TO STAY IN STEEMIT AND WONDERFUL COUNTRY. A TRUE TOURIST DELIGHT...A MUST VISIT FOR HOLIDAY LOVERS...THANKS FOR SHARING

I just love connecting with people having the same passion as me! It's great to be on this beautiful platform!
Cheers
@progressivechef

very correct...cheers

Very nice post ! So many awesome photos , thanks for share in your home town with us ! Steem on !👍👍👍

Mauritius is really a very beautiful country! Thanks for checking it @karenmckersie!
You are awesome!

Your very welcome!👍👍👍

Amazing and informative post! Following.

@crystalize

YEAH...THE COUNTRY IS REALLY WONDERFUL TO VISIT... GUESS YOU BE PLANNING FOR MAURITIUS THIS SUMMER!
NICE COMMENT

I would love to visit Mauritis--now that you have shown it to me! Thanks!!

great...good option. you have my support anytime

Do also follow @kenhudoy and read some o the post...wil be updating good posts soon

Hey @crystalize! Thank you for stopping by and appreciating the post!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Yes! Of course, I want to dance the Sega in the sand around the bonfire and eat alien berries. :)
Fantastic post @progressivechef! Congrats on your 1 month stats. Those are very impressive. Well done, Sir!

Hahaha! Those alien berries are still in your mind!Lol!
Thank you @rebeccaryan for your very nice comments! Wish you enjoy all the forthcoming posts too!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I'm all about plate presentation and I have never seen that type of berry before. It reminded me of a cross between a raspberry and a blackberry. What is that berry really called?

Then you must have surely enjoyed my latest post too where I displayed some of my past food presentations!
Thanks to @haphazard-hstead we got the scientific name of the red one! It is Rubus rosifolius, the Mauritius raspberry or thimbleberry.

Very interesting, in deed!
Is it full of tiny seeds like a raspberry?

Yes @rebeccaryan the texture is quite same as raspberry, sometime the seeds can be a little bit harder than raspberries though, but so enjoyable to eat!

wow...you wanna dance the Sega in the sand around the bonfire and eat alien berries. Peae rember me when you visit and enjoy paradise!;) so are you visiting this summer?
nice comment!

LOL!! That all depends on how my crypto-coins preform. Let me just say that I have placed this destination on my list of places that I want to visit. Are you from there too or thinking of visiting yourself?
I have followed you. :)

am thinking of visiting after you tickle my fancy with your photos of the location...thanks and which area do you blog on

So, I like to blog in travel. If I ever do go to Mauritius, I will definitely be making contact with @progressivechef...these are his beautiful photos of his country. :)

right...do keep me posted...
also check out my blog posts as i wil update soon

great...expecting your comment
will post update soon...keep following

wow, what a beautiful country, i look forward to visiting soon.

cheers!!!

It is indeed a very beautiful country , visiting it will for sure give you entire satisfaction!
Thanks for your nice comment!
@progressivechef

This post has received a 4.50 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

That was REALLY interesting! I always try to imagine life in such a confined amount of space, and such a small amount of people compared to where I live. It sounds amazing and is now in the top of my bucket list of places I would like to visit. When I do, there will be chickens and apples for us all! :D

Oh thanks a lot for checking it out @sircork! Really there were many steemians asking me where is that country of mine exactly!
The only trouble for you to come over here will be the long travel, but believe me it's worth the trip!
There will be chickens, apples and not to forget ... whole roasted 'deer' on the pit!Lol!
Have a great day ahead!
@progressivechef

Now you have me intrigued. You have a deer population on an 800 sq mile island?

Yes we do have it, actually we have more than 70 domains where you can hunt deers and wild boar!
The season starts in June each year and last for 4 months!

Amazing use of space.

Very attractive. A very small country not up to a region like Lagos in my country with a population of over 12 million adults. I love the island nature. Another thing, being a multi-ethnic, do you people experience ethnic crisis?

Lagos is just a giant compared to Mauritius @ebohio2008!
Despite the multi-ethicity of the population, we all live in peace with each other! Each one respect the faith of each other! It is really a unique place on earth I will say! There is no war, no fighting nothing!

Chef, your country looks beautiful! Oh my goodness! I want to come visit! I have to fly out every 2 weeks (for visa) and I would love to make Mauritius one of those stops! I can't believe how amazing those waters look!
We can sing in the kitchen together finally!
=D
XO,
H2H

Yuppy! Finally the dream will come true! And on top of that, you don't need visa to come over here! Only a couple of countries are restricted!
It is really a very beautiful country!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49