🌹 My Life as an Antiques Dealer 🌹

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

today, while chatting in Steemspeak, I was asked for probably the third time today, what I do for living. So I thought it's high time I create a post about my life as an antiques dealer, as promised in my introduce yourself post

I work in an old school and church building which has been converted into our antiques showroom, in Woodstock, Cape Town

IMG_1668.PNG

Our shop is filled with many, many treasures. Over the top chandeliers, aged mirrors, heavy antique furniture and salvaged doors and gates occupy every available surface.

IMG_1410.JPG

We source from all over the world, looking for antique, retro, minimalist, quirky and cutting edge decor and furniture. We travel to Belgium, France, India, Argentina, Indonesia, Vietnam and wherever else we may find the good stuff

IMG_1424.JPG

Let me know what your thoughts are on these antiques and photos. I'd love to hear what you think!

IMG_1408.JPG

Let's get to know each other! What do you do in real life?

Come join me on http://steemspeak.com

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜

follow @princessmewmew

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject, if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking here!

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

Awesome pics babe!!!

That's an awesome profession @princessmewmew and of top of that you cook delicious food too! You are a super-woman!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Hehehe I try, I try. Thank you 🤗

What an interesting profession!

Thanks! It is fun indeed. What do you do?

Thanks for sharing this interesting bit about yourself and your life... it's another great way to build community! I grew up around lots of antiques in Denmark-- my parents were, for lack of a better term "passionate collectors." Very interesting profession... I think my dad secretly wanted to be an antiques dealer.

As for me, what I "do" is too complicated for a comment (maybe I'll make a post), but involves art, eBay, collectibles, writing and owning a small independent art gallery.

Sounds awesome! Beside my real life job of working in the industry, I also buy and sell some smalls. The shop I work in is mainly very large and overthe top items, so I enjoy finding mid-century and other vintage pieces to sell online

There is a film called The Best Offer with Geoffrey Rush - have you seen it? It's really, really good, and if you enjoy antiques, and the industry, you will love it. I've linked the IMDB link up there for you

This post has received a 7.47 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @princessmewmew.

How nice, your work place is filled with so many beautiful things.

Yes, it is. It definitely doesn't hurt to be surrounded by them

Nice pieces of antiques, those chandeliers are beautiful. Nice profession.

Thank you. What do you do?

Share trading is my business.

that is great,you have visited my country.
what did you find in Indonesia?
you must be much in love to art, otherwise you couldn't find old but gold stuff.
cheers.

we get some very interesting reproduction furniture and mirrors in indo. Really beautiful pieces.

Very cool to see this part of your life, @princessmewmew Interesting objects in the photos, with some incredible histories, I bet!

I work as a language teacher and run a small company and a non-for-profit project on the side of my main job.

Wow, you must be busy !!

What non profit do you run? And are you teaching Swedish at your school?

It's a crowd-lending project to finance solar electricity installations in rural villages in East Africa. Lenders get their loans repaid to then eventually, once the project is complete and paid off. Then they can reinvest or withdraw their money. We work with www.kiva.org and www.jointrine.com Half of the funding comes from the profits of my own private company, Wake-Up Call.

Yes, I teach Swedish language to immigrants at the school where I work (it's a privately owned social enterprise, though, not a public school).

Haha, not very busy. I always make sure to have enough free time left to simply enjoy life. Like now, for example! ;)

Wow! That's amazing Oleg. I think people do not really know what it's like in Africa. The lack of water and electricity and other "basic" needs we take for granted in the western world.

How are your travels going?

It's going great so far, really enjoying discovering Osaka. It's a very hot day here today, so I'm taking the afternoon off, just napping under the A/C. :) Plan to go to a public bath in the evening – they're wonderful in Japan!

Ooh sounds lovely! I've always wanted to go to Japan! Enjoy!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53