🌺Getting to Know Cape Town - A New Series🌺

in #travel7 years ago

New cover.jpg

Over the last few days, I have been spending a lot of time in discord and steemit chat channels, and I have been surprised by how little the rest of the world seems to know about Cape Town. I think this is SO sad, as it is one of the most beautiful places in the world!

💜This inspired me to create a new series of posts, about the wonderful place that is known as The Mother City. The series will simply be called "Getting to Know Cape Town 💜

kloof mountain.jpg

Cape Town is known for it's beautiful scenery, and famous for Table Mountain, which looks over the entire city. We have the ocean, mountain, winelands, green, lush forests and gorgeous food. There are amazing shopping destinations and vibrant art, music and theater scenes, and I've been told it has a certain similarity to San Fransisco. It's a crazy mix of cultures, with a large international population.

newlands.jpg

There are all kinds of people living in CT, from born and bred Souf Effrikens (you'll catch onto our accent soon enough!), plenty of Germans, Brits and other Europeans, to the most eccentric mix of other African nationals. There are many Zimbabweans, Malawians, Congolese, Mozambicans and Ghanaian, and even a sprinkling of Ethiopians, Somalis, Rwandans and other East African countries.

old flat mountaib.jpg

Walk down in any street in the city center and you will see posh, high end boutiques, smell incredible wafts of culinary magic, and hear anything from African dancehall to Mozart

bantry bay.jpg

cable car.jpg

I truly love my city, and wouldn't live any where else

top of mountain.jpg

My late friend George Bacon of 🐷 Hog Hoggidy Hog 🐷 said it best in their song "African Son" :

If someone asked me where would I say I’m from
If someone asked me where would I say I belong
There's been so much history and so much wrong
So much fighting for far too long, so much anger and so much pain
And then when the power shifts, we've got to find someone else to blame

It’s my home, it’s where I’ll stay and where I belong
I didn’t choose to be here, I was born
I might seem out of place here, but everything I hold dear is under the African sun

I can't wait to hear your thoughts on my new Cape Town series! Leave me a comment below!

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜

follow @princessmewmew

Steem-Minnow-Food.gif

source for cover pic

Sort:  

Oh wow!! I love this post!
Capetown looks so beautiful, you have made me want to go!!
I look forward to seeing more in the series, so you can give us some insider tips about what to do when you're in Capetown!! :)

Thank you so much babe! I actually used to work in a hotel so I have loads of touristy knowledge tucked away. And of course, in a local.

You must come visit!

Thank you for opening my eyes. It does look like a wonderful place to live!

Ooh so non sarky!! Thank you Muxxy, I appreciate you looking at my posts!!

Some great pictures! The buildings all along the rocky beach look pretty sweet! Maybe I'll have to visit Cape Town someday.

You must. It's epic!! Those are rich people houses. They are right on The ocean.

I'll take lots of pics next time I'm there. It's stunning!

I'm so glad you posted this piece! I love Capetown, and would love to have an extended visit to there. The vibe of the city is amazing and such an eclectic mix of cultures. The pictures are amazing and -yes! Just how I remember it! Post me some more!!! Great post!

Thank you Denise! I will definitely post some more - having a good response :)

Most excellent! :-)) I look forward to it!

Can I buy a ticket to the next episode please? I loved it! This town looks amazing 😆 looking forward to the next post... really nice work!!

Hahaha Thank you! Will let you know once it's up. Are you still using discord? Sent you a msg the other day :)

Ah sorry I didn't saw it. I am always busy reading and learning stuff about steem or cryptos, and forget to check out the discord channel every once and awhile.. haha..

Hehehe it's no problem! There is SO much to learn and understand, it's a lot!

I was there in 2006 it was amazing. South Africa is a beautiful place!!!!

It truly is! So much has changed since then though! The 2010 world cup really did a lot for us, tourism wise :)

We are headed to Cape Town on March 1st staying at Camps Bay. Can't wait to visit.

Oh how cool! It is an amazing place. I’ve done loads of restaurant reviews in ct.

You are also welcome to dm me on discord if you need any travel tips!

Hey there, another fellow Capetonian on Steem. Thanks for sharing our beautiful city.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.82 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @princessmewmew.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 5.56 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @princessmewmew. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44