🍔 Getting to Know Cape Town #4 - The Dog's Bollocks 🍔steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Carmen Cover 2.jpg

Wow, Guys! I haven't done one of these "Getting to Know Cape Town" posts in a while! My best friend turned 30 last weekend, and we celebrated by getting some burgers at The Dog's Bollocks


The Dog's Bollocks is a burger bar, known for it's HUGE, messy burgers, and casual style of service. The waitresses literally yell at you when your order is ready.

The restaurant is set in a garage on a small side street in Gardens. I actually went there when they first opened, about six years ago. It's cool to see how the place has changed and become bigger. In the beginning, they would not sell more than ten burgers a night. Now, they must do at least 50 burgers a night. 💰💪

d.JPG

The vibe is super casual, with long, family style seating. This suited us very well, as we were a big group, but the benches were very tight alongside the tables, and it made sitting there for a long period of time a bit uncomfortable.

I loved the decor, I think it really adds to the casual, quirky feeling of the restaurant. It feels kind of thrown together, but I think, if one looks carefully, you can see it is carefully curated.

c.jpg
b.jpg

The menu is displayed on the wall, and previously when had been there, you just filled out a form and handed it in to order, but this time, the waitress took the order at the table.

i.jpg

Now, to get to the important part! The burgers were extra sized, messy, and served with fries. To be honest, I was not completely amazed. The bun was nice and soft, and the filling (I had the Mexican, so beans and cheese sauce) was quite tasty, but I found the patty a bit bland, and also under-cooked. I could only eat half of the burger. @morkrock had the Ol' Fashioned, which was caramelized onions and cheese, he has the same kind of feelings about the food as I do.

a.jpg

As I said, it's very casual, with one big bread knife being passed around the table to cut your burgers, and no cutlery. (Not my favorite part of the night - LOL!). The burgers are saucy and messy, as you can see from @heypapalegend's face below. Also see my unimpressed face, trying to eat the burger with a skewer. 🙄

f.JPG
g.JPG

They only sell wine🍷, so you have to take your own beer, which was not a problem for us. We just took our own cooler box full of beer 🍺 and ciders, and this added to the casual (almost at home) feeling of the venue.

I thought it was a little gimmicky, but a cool place to hang out. Definitely not the best burger in town, but still a fun night out, and not too expensive at all.

h.jpg

Come join me on http://steemspeak.com

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜

follow @princessmewmew

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject, if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking here!

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

Awesome post Pee Pee 😉

Lol thank you pork rock 💓

Great review 👌🏻😀

Why thank you, mam.

Have you been there?

Cool!! Thanks for than review. Might just check it out when we down there 😉

Who doesn't?! 🤷🏼‍♀️ If you want casual quick and easy tacos, hit up El Burro's Tacquiera on Kloof Nek road, and if you're in for the whole authentic Mexican vibe, El Burro in Green Pount will not disappoint. I've had a Naartjie Margarita there was to die for!

Wow!! That does sound good!! Definitely gonna google them and have a look 😉 Thanks for the info!!

It's a cool vibe! I've been there for lunch and they have good tacos too!

Ooh!! We like tacos!!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Nice post, Upvoted!
would love to go to Cape Town, on my list for a long time!
the dog's bollucks was the name of my favorite bar when i was living in Canada

Thank you! I checked out your profile, it's so good!

Followed you!

Hey! Funny name for a bar haha, but it looks like a cool place and those burgers look delish! Following and upvoted :) xx

Thank you so much !

Straight up honest review appreciated @princessmewmew

I love trying out burgers and comparing them to my own. I make a MEAN ASS BURGER, lol. Am I tooting my own horn here a bit? Anyway, looks cool :):) Just a shame the patties are a little bland :( but hey, might go check it out sometime. Thanks for the info :) Cheers!!!

Same. I am a burger fundi. Make my own patties from scratch often, so I am quite fussy I think!

It was a cool vibe though, and I would go again.

Nice!!! I've seen on some of your posts you have a great hand in the kitchen :):) Perhaps we'll have a "Burger Battle" sometime :) Oohhh, I must share my ultimate burger sauce sometime. Simply marvelous!! ;)

Oh it's AWN! I challenge thee to a duel!

Hehe, we'll make a plan and a post :):)

It may not be the best burger in town but it sure as hell looks like one! 😃

Haha. It was tasty but not the best! And it was super fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48