@polebird: Whimsical stone emojis of Japan ๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜ซ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ข๐Ÿ˜›๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ™ƒ

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

This was definitely one of the coolest temples I visited during my trip to Kyoto, Japan. It is just filled with personality! Otagi Nenbutsu-ji is a bit off the beaten path in the hills of Arashiyma. It is much a temple that is much less visited. In fact, it took us about 1 hour to walk over from the nearest bus stop.

IMG_8531.jpg

The temple was originally located in Higashiyama and much of it was washed away after terrible floods. The remaining structures were reassembled in the current location, but suffered more damage after a typhoon in 1950. Shortly thereafter, a new head priest Kocho Nishimura (also a sculptor) headed the renovations. His idea was to teach visitors how to chisel and make stone sculptures of Buddhaโ€™s disciples aka Rakan statues. This resulted in 1200 different and unique statues - because each statue was made by a different person! How COOL is that!?

IMG_9209.JPG

When I realized that these statues were carved by different people between 1981-1991, it truly made me appreciate them even more, and I love the idea of it. There are so many different emotions and personalities displayed amongst the statues - I feel like it embraces diversity! source

IMG_8528.jpg

We spent quite a bit of time running around the moss covered statues so we could look at their characters. This was like walking through real life stone emojis!

IMG_8543.jpg

This one hit close to home - a handstanding statue! Life is more fun upside down. :D Where is the pole dancing statue?

IMG_8541.jpg

The guitar player! Of course, I had to play my air guitar to match.

IMG_8535.jpg

Thanks for reading! What kind of stone statue would you have carved if given the chance?

IMG_8549.jpg

Love,
Jess

Sort: ย 

thats the first time i am seeing this ...thnks 2 you

you're welcome glad you liked it!

Hi, I think you'll enjoy the challenge I've started: Where Is This Challengeguess the location and win 0.1 SBD.

Shiiiiiit who cool... I love stone carving... And 1200 different ones ๐Ÿ˜totally awesome.. Thanks for sharing and best wishes for the weekend ๐ŸŽฏ ๐Ÿ™

haha it was such an interesting temple to visit! Thank you, hope you have a fabulous weekend as well!

Yes one of a kind or unique for sure... ๐ŸŽฏCoooool one! ๐Ÿ˜

I can't wait to visit Japan. Great photos btw!
I hear English is not widely spoken there...what are your thoughts ? Have fun!

thank you!! Yeah it was hit or miss finding translations :P

Wow, what a awesome place :) The statues look so old I would have guessed they were created some hundred years ago. But you wrote these are from 1981-1991?

Yes!! That is what my source said, I was shocked as well. They said the moss growth just makes it look old :P

A tiring journey when you walk to get to this place. Yeah it looks like the statues were carved by different people. Because it looks from the character shape of the person who made it. If there is a chance I will make a sculpture like you that is very beautiful. Good luck always for you @polebird. ๐Ÿ˜Š

hehe it was worth the walk over! Wasn't sure when we were walking, but definitely loved it when we got there. Very cool to see all those different creations. Thank you so much for your constant support!

Yeah very cool when you're there. I really like a different trip like you do. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ‘

Gosh, I have missed a lot of your posts from running around for the meetup I had this weekend. I really like the guy in upside down combo. His pole practice amid others is really fun. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜€

heheh totally ok, life is busy outside of steemit as well :P Yeah, that was my favorite one!

Thanks for understanding. Double thanks for your presence in my last post. You are awesome.

this is an interesting site to visit indeed. What prefecture is this polebird?

Ah! Japan! It's at the top of my bucket list. This area looks so cool! I love the upside down statue lol - how fitting ;-)

hehehe japan was reallly neat to visit! You will have a great time when you go :P, the upside down statue was cracked me up when I came upon it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61