@polebird: 🌵Roadtrippers Arizona edition - Cactus hunting! 🌵

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The cactus is such an interesting plant. They come in many different shapes and sizes and can survive for so long without any water. I was pretty excited to see a large area covered with tons of cacti - more specifically the gigantic Saguro cactus, when we were driving in towards Phoenix on our Arizona road trip! It’s a rare for us to see so many cacti, so my friends and I decided to stop for a little bit of highway cactus hunting.

B03D0CE6-133A-4C9E-8A85-9EB24A99C079.jpeg

We ended up pulling off to the service road, where there was a small dead end road next to an rv resort. That’s the best thing about a road trip - that you can stop for all the sights that interest you and see a lot on the road!

C4EF2C3A-D243-4D2A-B4F9-A5141AF778D9.jpeg

An interesting fact about the Saguro Cactus:

Saguros can live over 150 years and their first “arm” may grow between 75 years and 100 years of life! source. It was incredible to learn that the plants we saw on our trip were around for many years.

45C4A02A-DCA3-4E9F-BF29-C4ACF6D17320.jpeg

Upon closer inspection, there were more varieties than just the Saguro cactus.

F041DC2A-0024-4175-91C0-702FFD40E2C8.jpeg

55E9C2B7-90A0-422F-A4E3-48C8309A0C68.jpeg

In all honesty, we couldn’t spend too much time cactus hunting- it was definitely hot, almost 100 degrees farenheit!

5E790D9B-F35F-47C7-A6E0-85DAA25377BB.jpeg

And with that, I leave you with an obligatory cactus selfie! We are cheesing it big time. More about the Arizona trip to come.... :D so stay tuned!

4209FA2E-C655-457B-AC04-A6D88635C6BC.jpeg

Love,
Jess

P.S. This post is dedicated to my friend and fellow cactus/succulent lover steemian @nikv, I have a feeling she might like this prickly post!! Check out her page for some interesting plant facts and photos!

Sort:  

That was soooo BIIIIGG!!!!! My mom and I love watching your posts.. hehehe :) She also saw your previous post with the tulips and she love it! :) I let her see this one too and she was all like, "WOOOOW!" :) We're you're avid fan now.. Hehehe :) :)

Hehe thank you so much! That means a lot, you guys are so sweet❤️ Really happy to hear you are enjoying my content!!

Yup. Hehehe :) We love watching your travels. And my mom is also a great fan of nature and especially plants and flowers that is why she's loving your posts.. HAHA :D She's actually working on signing up on Steemit right now. She'd really follow you when she will be able to hop in the platform for sure. :D :D

So beautiful.. They are so longing to the eye. They are wonderfully created by the maker

Thank you! They really are stunning plants!

a very cool trip, hopefully you feel the happiness, be careful with the tree cube because he is very dangerous with his durian dibadannya, good luck

Thank you! It was cool to see the desert scene :)

that's right, but it takes time, hopefully you can feel it

I swear every time I see an update from your adventure I really wish I could use that location for a photoshoot 😄 Hope you're having fun!

Heheheh me too! I need to make room in my luggage to do an actual shoot :) maybe in an upcoming trip! I’m actually back home now, recovering from the trip 😂 and catching up a few posts!

Haha sounds like a well deserved rest after your adventure.

Great Post & Pictures!
Steem on :)

thank you!!

waoo extraordinary

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49