@polebird: ❤️ My favorite adventure gear! ❤️

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Today’s post I want to introduce some of my favorite outdoor gear. It’s no secret that I love a bit of adventure, and I actually spend quite a few weekends throughout the year in the great outdoors.

IMG_4397.JPG

The gear in my post are used in different scenarios, but I find each of them quite useful/enjoyable. I'm not an expert outdoors woman, but here are my top personal picks! I will also specify what brand or styles I use in particular and like, but of course other brands can probably work just as well – so do your research!

IMG_3167.jpg

#1. A travel hammock

These are packable hammocks made out of durable materials, and great to take with you on the go. Usually you have to purchase a “suspension system” for the hammock that allows you to adjust and string it up to some trees. I often throw my hammock in a backpack when we go out hiking, as long there are trees on the trail. I also love bringing my hammock to the park, and literally just HANGING out. :D Obviously, Watson enjoys the hammock too.

IMG_4739 2.JPG

It is pretty comfortable. I’ve heard some campers even sleep in these hammocks (usually with added protection such as a rain shade or bug net over the hammock.) >PRO tip (haha jk, more like a noob tip) – if you lose the heavy –duty carabiner that comes with the kit, replace it with a carabiner that is certified to hold a lot of weight instead of a cheapy one. LOL, @karensuestudios and I almost busted our butts on the floor because I used a random one I found at home (OOPS, wasn’t thinking there!) Sorry Karen! My hammock is made by ENO, and I've had it for at least 6 years now.

#2. A great lightweight towel

This is so basic, but I think I use this the most! I have two towels that I favor and alternate -they are just so versatile.

45B06453-FEEB-49FA-AC81-1E77D48A5471.jpg
My towel has been used as a beach towel, a picnic blanket, a yoga mat, blanket, and a legit towel for drying off – so I definitely include it in my bag when I go out for an adventure! The cuter one, but taking up slightly more room is my towel from Sand Cloud.

IMG_0119.JPG

When I need to cut packing weight/space down to the bare minimum I bring my super lightweight purple towel from REI with me! I love this one too, although it’s not as cute because it is a fast drying towel. Very practical.

UATZE2353.jpg

#3. A camp stove

Ok, I admit I don’t do the cooking, but this thing is cool! Hubby brings it out on some of our adventures, and we have had some decent meals in the outdoor setting. We have brought it car camping or to outdoor picnics. All it requires is a mini propane tank, and the stove heats up so fast! Accessories you may probably need is a mini camp pot and kit. Suddenly morning coffee, or scrambled eggs when you are outdoors is within reach! Not recommended for backpack camping tho, it will be too much for that – I think they have even smaller cooking devices. :P

IMG_0603.JPG

#4. My sun shade

When you love spending time outdoors and in the sun as much as me, you have to think about sun protection! Wearing sun screen and hats will only do so much, and sometimes a sun umbrella can be hard to put up depending on the situation with the ground. In full sun, you definitely need some shade to retreat to and relax.

IMG_1625.JPG

This sun shade is a half dome tent, and the “windows” can even be opened or closed to let the breeze/light in. The one that I have is pretty easy to set up – takes about 5 minutes and opens with one mechanism. The only issues I have had with it is that, if it is super windy, sometimes it doesn’t hold up super well. I’ve used this on sand at the beach and the white sands of New Mexico, over the mud fields at the diamond dig, and so many more times! If it fits in the car on a trip and it is appropriate for the occasion, it goes. :D

DSC00035.jpg

#5. A carabiner

I love clipping a couple to my bag. You never know what you can use it for – from clipping up trash bags to securing your wet flip flops to the outside of your pack and much more, they are awesome and always come in handy!

IMG_6199.jpg

What are your top outdoor equipment you like to use and have you tried any of the ones I mentioned above? Thanks for reading my friends! Steem on and cheers to many more adventures.

IMG_3335.jpg

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

A travel hammock??!?!? I had no idea those even existed... I've got to get one!

Carabineers are life! So much useful. My favourite piece of outdoor gear is a strap that goes around my left shoulder and carabineers my camera to my right hip for super quick access. So good!

I needed the sunshade in Melbourne, I kinda hated the beach cos I'd get burnt in two seconds... Australia is not good at ozone layers. Oregon, not so much need.

heheh YEAH love the travel hammock! Got karen one too and she's always HANGING out :P ahh great idea on the camera! Have not used it like that before. heheh I want to go back to Australia sooo bad, but don't think my sunshade is travel friendly.. it packs up "pretty small" but still like the size of those packable travel chairs

As a serial hobbyist, you need to include cooking as your hobby. Haha. I am just thinking about how you and Karen felt when the hammock tore and you found yourselves on the floor.
I hope the height is not that much.

hahah it was the carabineer that broke!! oo she was a bit shocked - but we were only like a foot off the ground!!! that was also after she broke her collarbone and it had barely healed! baking USED to be a hobby, but it's totally got shoved aside now

Oops, and she still do acroyoga with the injury?
Used to? Haha. Please rekindle it

Nice adventure. I like

i like your post. i wait for your next post carry @bijoy123

Smart gear Jessica....I noticed you haven't mentioned Knife so you are not much of a hunter or cook...
Looking cool as ever.....:)

haha thanks XABI! lol nope, I dont think I even have my own personal knife or anything.. I just use scissors to cut stuff!

Amazing post
Keep posting ♥♥

Your welcome ♥

Love the travek hammock! Awesome idea for part of the kit bag! I'm with you on the carabineer and the camping stove! Nothing like something warm to drink after a cold hike!

hehe thank you!! Glad you like my picks :D These items are the most in rotation on my trips!

amazing ! Seems like you had great time. i love travelling like this :)

Nice stuff. Hammock looks comfy ;D How about a headlight, do you have that with you on your travels? I find it a pretty handy piece of equipment ;)

Oo yes!! Thanks for bringing that up, totally forgot abt it. You know that is actually another one of my items I like to bring! :) they are so convenient at night and esp for night photography when you need your hands free!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54