Traveling to the UK - Oxford and Camden

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

As you probably know if you've seen my post Traveling under a pseudogender, I spent last week in the UK, visiting my mom, who lives in Oxford.

In the past I'd come for longer periods of time, which meant a lot of down time, and a lot of wastefulness. This time, I decided to help make the plans as well, rather than let her plan it alone. I looked at day trips around London, and found Dover and Canterbury, places niether of us has been to.

Our itinerary was as follows:
Sunday - Land. Decided to head to the pub, see my aforementioned post for that.
Monday - Rest from flight. Go to Shopping mall in Oxford. Meet coworkers who work in the UK in the afternoon, and have a quiet evening.
Tuesday - Travel to Camden Town, the most important shopping day!
Wednesday - Wind down a bit in Oxford, visit tk-max.
Thursday - Pack everything, travel to Canterbury, walk around town, stay the night.
Friday - Possibly visit Dover, head to Heathrow, fly back.

I'll write about Monday and Tuesday, and then another post for the rest.
Each day will also have an album with more photos, in case you're interested, and to not make this post too long.

Monday


That's popcorn in my salty caramel shake, not whipped cream. Why?

We had breakfast in american style diner, which was merely ok.
Hit Primark, which is a favorite shopping location. I like to try on women's clothing, but I don't do it in stores who only sell women's clothing, as I have received transphobic remarks about going into the Women's fitting rooms. So I can only try on clothes in stores that sell both. I take the women's clothes to the men's fitting rooms.
Primark also have women's shoes up to size 42, which sometimes fit me.

This was also the first time I encountered the fantastic glittery goodness Dr Martens, who will make a comeback on Friday.


Second row from the top, the extra glittery rainbow pair

And of course, I checked off Cornish Pastry from my list of must do things.


Traditional flavor

Album Monday

Tuesday

I had a clear objective here, and that is buying @Lionne a pair of New Rock boots. She's been wanting a pair for a really long time (10 years?) and it never panned out. It was going to pan out this time. I was going to make sure of it.

We rode to a park and ride, then took the underground to Camden Town. First thing I did was find the New Rock store, and take a few pictures of the shoes on the wall and send them to @Lionne, so she could look them over. I'll head back to the store later to make a decision. That way I also don't have to carry around New Rock boots all day.


New Rock store

We found a stand for the Cheese Wheel, which we were thinking of trying before leaving, instead of our usual visit to Hache for a burger. But since we found the stand, we could try it now, and have Hache later!


It was fucking delicuous

We stopped by a store that sold corsets and gothic dresses, and as soon as I picked one up from the sales rack, the sales lady asked if I wanted to try it on. This made me so much more comfortable shopping for things for myself.
I got three corsets off the sales rack, none of the my size. Promised to come back later. And I did, when I got back, I got myself a corset and a skirt. I also thanked her for making me comfortable trying them on!

There was a Dalek, so well, I had to take a selfie with it.


Took a selfie with a Dalek and lived to tell the tale

Also stopped by some craft Gin store, and bought some extremely smooth and delicious Gin. No need to add anything.

We headed back to the New Rock store, and I got @Lionne the pair she wanted, and also a pair for me!
You'll find the pictures in the album.

And lastly, we visited Hache, which you may recall from my post about burgers. I can now say I like Gourmet 26 in tel aviv more, but it was still a damn good burger.

Album Tuesday

Sort:  

Hey Poet! Greetings from Nigeria, you just got me wanting some of that delicious stuff. What was that in that bowl you got at cheese wheel? and ever being to Africa?

Fettuccine Alfredo with pancetta and wild mushrooms and some amazing garlic sauce.

I haven't, even though I'm fairly close geographically, living in Israel.

Oh! that's fairly close. Do let me know whenever you decide to come around west Africa, I could be your tour guide. Let me get you tasteing some of Africa's best delicacies like Jollof Rice (You can Google that)

Sounds like my kind of shopping day. Docs and corsets! :)

I. Love. This. Story. I feel like I got to go shopping with you! All the fun without spending any of the money (or getting the spoils, for that matter, but I haven't worn the corset or rock boots I have in too long to deserve going shopping for more.) What a fun adventure. :)

I'm not sure how to respond to this. I'm flattered!

lol! I sometimes have that effect on people. I don't go shopping much, especially for items like these. It was fun to do it virtually. :)

Glad I could take you on the ride with me. I just posted the rest of the trip!

Ahhh, I'm getting jealous about all that food! I wish we had better street food where I live.

Dalek look errrmm kind of Bot! Trust you having fun so far on your trip.. what about you mom trust she’s doing good... nice post , quality pictures.... I like your finger nails, they look so sweet.....

Health and wellness Nice Poste Bro!!!

Hi @poet how are you? Really nice intro, i love it ! I would like to connect with other cool and creative steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72