My Promo-Mentors Writing Challenge: Traditional Hawaiian ritual

in #travel6 years ago

Hawaii is such an amazing place, I'm truly in love with it. I love its vibe, the people, the nature, everything... In this post, I will write about a Hawaiian tradition which is learned from a local person when I was there in 2016.

If you'd like to see the real face of foreign places, you have to be off the beaten track.

IMG_20160902_084333.jpg

One day I went hiking in the jungle on my own, where I met a local man sitting on a stone surrounded by trees. He was holding a stone wrapped in a leaf in his hand, and I was curious what he was doing with it, so I startet chatting with him. I generally like talking to locals, because this is how you can get a real picture of the place you are visiting. So I asked him and he said that this is how Hawaiian people show their appreciation to God or Universe. They go into the middle of the jungle, they grab a stone, pick a huge leaf of the Ti plant and wrap the stone with it. Then they hold it in their hands, close their eyes and wish something they would like to recieve from Universe. The stone symbolises the thought and the leaf symbolises the Universe, showing that the Universe takes care of the wish. After this, they show respect and appreciation to Universe while saying thanks for everything they are thankful for. I find it as a very nice, deep ceremony.
We should do the same, concentrate on things we are grateful for, because this is how we can attract more beauties in our lives.

After I left, I found a few more "sanctuaries" during the hike.
20160901_141123.jpg

I did my own prayer, too. I usually say thanks to Universe for everything I am gratfeul for, I do it on a daily basis, and it was so touching to do it here in the middle of the rainforest, surrounded by nature.
20160901_141400.jpg

This hike was truly one of my favourite adventures in Hawaii because of it's spiritual teaching and the nature's untouchedness. I was walking in the jungle for 4 hours totally barefeet, just to feel the ground with my feet and get more in touch with nature.

Walking barefoot gives you such freedom.
20160901_143258.jpg

Sort:  

Wow - watch out for pig poop though!

Soon as I saw the big Buddha statue I knew this article for me and I was right. I really enjoined reading about you experience my Dear. Reconnecting with nature and the Universe is what life is really about. Namaste 🌸💖🌸

Thank you so much my Dear! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it :)

Thank you for sharing your story!

It looked very spiritually!

I'm so glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62