You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 5 - Team Beck moves from Paris to Pas-de-Calais in the north of France and nobody dies

in #travel7 years ago

Thanks for this post. I like your use of the word "roundabouted". Especially in the context of having "roundabouted" the wrong way. Makes total sense and is poetic kind of.

When I got to little coffee places like that I always try to get my hands on one of those chocolate croissants.

Sort:  

HI @pjcswart (another Steemian I've now had the pleasure of meeting in real life), I love that we can make up words like this in English and somehow it works. If I tried that in French I would just get weird looks - "that's not a word".

And oooooh, those little pains au chocolat...yum yum yum....😊😊

The reason why it worked was because it is not really an official word so it was kind of a mistake, but it was written in the context of a real mistake.

Well, it also works because there's a current trend of verbing in the English language - although I'm not sure the venerable roundabout has to date had the privilege of being transformed this way.

O yeah like googling, just google it. My view is that a lot of that verbing is an indirect result of the IYI idea that is phenomenoning the world.

SoI googled IYI (no irony there), and this prickly piece was my find du jour: https://medium.com/incerto/the-intellectual-yet-idiot-13211e2d0577. Youch.

Yeah thats the one. There's another one on how to beat an IYI its so funny. https://www.mergersandinquisitions.com/how-to-beat-the-intellectual-yet-idiot/

I saw that link too but after the first one wasn't sure if I had the courage to read another in the same sitting! Waiting for my SAM (Sarcasm Appreciation Mechanism) to build up again after the loss of my draft 😜😜

Thanks for reading the first one. Have you found some good ways of SAMMING?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69