How to Travel BUSINESS CLASS for the price of Economy

in #travel7 years ago

So two weeks ago I flew to Thailand for a vacation trip. But this time was different. I flew business class and I didn't pay a dollar extra for it. There was no special offer, I don't have any contacts and I also don't have free Miles to upgrade from.

So could I get a amazing flight experience others pay so much money for by good planning and executing?
The Answer is YES!

food

I just needed to figure out how. This was actually my second time trying to fly business for free. I learned from my previous mistakes and it worked this time.

But before we start let me tell you there are a couple of things you will have no control over.

For example the plane has to be full. If the plane is empty, you will have no chance to be upgraded.
Airlines often overbook there flights. That means they sell more tickets then there are seats on the flight. So when everyone actually does show up for the flight, the staff have to make room by upgrading economy passengers to business or first class. So a full flight is your golden ticket.

golden ticket

Another Thing that you can't control is the mood of the staff. Obviously they decide if you get the upgrade or not.

Plus you need to travel alone. I mean, come on its hard enough to get the business upgrade for yourself. getting it for a second person is nearly impossible.

That being said, here is how I did it:

Step 1:
three months before the flight, I signed up to my airlines frequent flyer program and two months before the flight I asked them if it was possible to reserve a bulkhead seat. Bulkhead seat are these seats in the front with more Leg room and are only made available 24 hours before boarding.
Regardless the outcome I basically just wanted to pop up in there system as a frequent flyer program member.

Step 2:
The time has come to checkin.
airport
One important factor is to dress properly. Every kind of clothing that is comfy, won't give you higher chances to get the upgrade. That's why I put on a expensive button up shirt, long pants and a classy looking watch. It is business calss after all.

I arrived at the airport and when I was boarding, I greated the staff friendly and made clear the I am a member of there frequent flyer program without making it obvious.

Step 3:
NEVER ask for a business class upgrade.
The staff is asked daily multiple times for an upgrade. You don't want to do that. Its annoying and rude.

Be respectful, friendly and don't waste there time.
Instead of asking for the business class upgrade randomly I asked them politely for the bulkheadseats I called for months before. The friendly staff member told me that these seats are available, so I say "Thank you" and sat down.

Now she knew everything she needs to know and I just waited.

And because this flight actually was overbooked, I was asked by the staff if I would like to travel in business class.

TLDR:

  1. register on the frequent flyer program of your airline
  2. dress well, be respectfull and nice
  3. don't ask for the upgrade but make clear you are a frequent flyer and committed to the airline
  4. profit

flight

Mission accomplished.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pixelfox! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60582.68
ETH 2607.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55