CEMETERY OF THE TRAINS ---- FRIEDHOF DER ZÜGE

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


In October 2017 I visited the WorldWar 1 battle-sites of Verdun. On the way there I saw this strange place in Dommary-Baroncourt. Obviously discarded trains are parked here to wait for their definitive scrapping. Some of the locomotives and wagons have been standing there for a long time, however, when you see the degree of destruction and in some places the plant growth.

I decided to stop and visit the last station of these trains.

I had already published some of the pictures on another platform and was asked by our friend and fellow Steemian @flurx to show them on Steemit. That pleased me and I would like to do so right now.

I think I leave you now with the pictures, which don't really need any additional comments.


Im Oktober 2017 besuchte ich die WW-1 Kriegsstätten von Verdun. Auf dem Weg dorthin sah ich diesen doch etwas skurillen Ort in Dommary-Baroncourt. Hier werden offensichtlich ausrangierte Züge abgestellt, um auf ihre definitive Verschrottung zu warten. Die Loks und Waggons stehen allerdings teilweise schon sehr lange da, wenn man den Grad der Zerstörung und stellenweise den Pflanzenwuchs sieht.

Ich entschloss mich, anzuhalten und den letzten Bahnhof dieser Züge zu besuchen.

Ich hatte einen Teil der Bilder auch schon auf einer anderen Plattform veröffentlicht und wurde unter anderm von unserem Freund und Mit-Steemian @flurx aufgefordert, sie auch auf Steemit zu zeigen. Dies freute mich und ich will dem hiermit nachkommen.

Ich glaube, ich lasse Euch jetzt mit den Bildern, welche eigentlich auch keinen zusätzlichen Kommentar brauchen.























Click photos to enlarge --- Klicke auf die Fotos zum vergrössern



Wanna see more from me? Click:
Du willst mehr von mir sehen? Click:

👇🏻👇🏻👇🏻


Footer made by @sjennon - Thanks a lot!

Sort:  

I'm sorry I was being hacked! I have deleted the spam and working on clean up! Love and Kisses @marie

Hello Marie Joy! Sorry to here that, but happy that you managed to recover your account! 😃

Great photos, well done! I'm a sucker for trains. There is just something about abandoned places and things...

Vielen Dank! Ich habe auch nicht viel Ahnung von Zügen, aber der Ort hat tatsächlich eine spezielle Aura! :)

Such a cool series of shots I love visiting train graveyards or museums and this reminds me to try and visit one of them in CT this summer

Thank you!
These places have kind of a spirit! I love them too!

indeed you can feel the history oh the stories they could tell

WOW that is sooo great cemetery. In one hand is sad but the other hand it makes me feel so sensitive and happy to see your post and how great you took the shots :)

Thank you so very much, Meg! 😃

Yes, it is indeed a very special place.

Eh bien ça c'est un veritable cimetière en effet....! dommage, je verrais bien certains réhabilités pour en faire un café restau avec une petite terrasse guinguette ^_^

Eh en voilà qui est une bonne idée!

Ce que je ne comprends pas, c'est qu'il y a des tonnes de fer, d'aluminium et d'autes matières précieuses à recycler qu'on abondonne ici.

Du hast recht.
Die Bilder sprechen für sich.

Sad to see the old Iron Horse discarded. Fabulous photos of the old train and the graffiti on the side of it is quite good. 😃

Yes indeed and I'm just wondering why thy do not recycle all the precious materials, but just let them decompose here. Well, for people like me it was an hour or so of fun, exploring these old machines and take photos.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

It is indeed! Thanks a lot! :)

Close where I live used to be a car cemetery. During WWII, US soldiers hid their cars in a forest near Chatilon. All were taken covered nicely by the nature. You can find pictures on google.

C'était vraiment cool! Je ne connaissais pas cet endroit. Dommage qu'ils ont enlevé les voitures.

Oui vraiment dommage pour ceux qui aiment l'exploration urbaine comme moi-même...
C'était le maire de cette commune qui a donné l'enlevement, parce qu'un journaliste a fait in reportage avec la conséquence que cette fôret a attiré beaucoup de spectateurs...
Assez pour déranger le paix dans l'environnement selon le maire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45