Wakeboard today, work tomorrow

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

If you love water skiing, snowboarding and surfing, you will probably want to try wakeboarding too. You can have fun on days when there are low waves in the ocean. Wakeboarding helps you burn up to  350 calories per hour. It's also great if you want to tone up your arm, legs, abs and back muscles. 

Here in the Philippines, we have the first world-class water sports complex in Asia.  Its called CamSur Watersports Complex (CWC) in Bicol. That's about 1 hour away from Manila by plane. My friends and I tried it for the first time and we got stoked! It's an addicting water sport. I got blisters all over my hands but it's worth it. I embraced every body pain I got from riding but it's okay because I had so much fun riding. I can't believe that it's been over a year since my last wakeboarding session. I wish I can go back there soon!

That's me going gungho when I was able to ride smoothly. Just like surfing, I love the feeling of riding the board and just getting pulled by the cable. It feels so freeing. Fast and steady. You have to use your hips and legs to move. Wakeboarding is an addicting sport. Once you tried it, you won't be able to stop and just keep on riding. I met some people who got hooked to this sport, they said it helped them become fit and sober. Sober because they stop being alcoholic. 

My friend's wakeboard. He has like 6 of them, he let us borrow it instead of renting at the sports complex. Renting a board would cost you about 4usd per hour. Plus you have to rent a vest and helmet for your protection.

That's my friend Jon. He's been trying all the ramps in Pradera like a maniac! lol!

 He's been a pro wakeboarder since he's a teenager.

that my bestie @whitesummer she's stoked! I remember we borrowed a bicycle from the staff and bike around the park. It was so awesome! Fresh air, clean environment, great people, I just love it!

That's in Pradera. Another water park located in Lubao, Pampanga. It's 3 hours drive from Manila. Since the water park are hugeeee, you have to borrow this cable car to get you from point A to B.

After wakeboarding, you can chill in the swimming pool. That's my travel buddy and soul sista Zyra. I remember when we were there, there's a little girl who almost drown. His father jumped off the pool to save her. Her dad was so mad coz he wet his Iphone. lol!

In Pradera, they have this cool trampoline where you can practice all the 360 tricks. We went there just to jump like kids and have fun. I miss my friend, Izza. She's in the middle. She's having so much fun in that pic. lol

After burning calories with riding, time to eat! Laing pizza. Laing is like Spinach in the US. I might sound kinda weird but I'm telling you, you gotta try it. It's so freakin' good!

Here's a video of me feeling happy while riding. :D


I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I do. I have more stories like this in the future. I'll keep writing more. 

Steem on!

Sort:  

Ayyy this is so awesome you wake board and obviously pretty well. I wakeboarded a ton when I live on Lake Norman in North Carolina. I miss it so much. Thank you or rekindling those memories with this post :)

So....

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I'm happy this post was able to rekindle those memories of yours! I'm flying to South Carolina on October. Are you close?

I accept! I accept! :))

Ayyyy heck yeah congrats again :)

O yes just like an 8-10 hour drive from Ohio not too bad at all. I have a lot of friends still in South Carolina. So let me know if you are trying to wakeboard it up :)

8-10 hour drive? That's so far man. lol! Sure I will hit you up once I landed. Have a great day ahead! :))

its not too bad haha. But I am in Lake Norman a lot which is near Charlotte so that is a short drive :) hahah

cool! okay I will make sure to hit you up when I'm there. Namaste! :))

So...as far as i can see there is no motorboat involved....some sort of other mechanism pulls you around the pool. Only one at a time?

hey @john-gpr,

Yes, there is no motorboat involved, it's a cable park. The video I took was in the practice area. The actual cable park is about 6 hectares big, it has 6-point cable ski system. If you want to know more, please search on google "CamSur Watersports Complex".

Cheers mate! :-)

@pinaynomad

Good job @pinaynomad, i tried that before able to stand but got thrown out on the curve, i hope to try that again soon, but i like surfing better

If you like surfing, I also posted an article about that. But it's a poem lol.

very good !
I love wakeboarding :)
Check my posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41