Bucket list #3: Climb an Active Volcano

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Taal volcano --- It is considered to be the smallest active volcano in the world and the second most active volcano in the Philippines. With a record of thirty three historical eruptions; it's a mad fiery volcano. Inside the main crater, you will find the famous Vulcan Point Island. Acording to Atlas Obscura, it's "an island in the middle of a lake, in the middle of a volcano, in the middle of a bigger lake, in the middle of a bigger island, in an archipelago, in the Pacific Ocean."

To give you a better understanding, here's an image from Thrillist

Pretty cool right? 

When you go trekking, I recommend that you go there early in the morning like 6 or 7 because it gets too hot from 10AM-3PM. I've been there twice and got sunburned on my first trek coz we got there around 10AM. On my second visit, I learned my lesson so we got there early. 

 just another crater, most tourists mistakenly thought it's Taal volcano

Things to bring:

good trekking shoes or sandals

water

extra clothes and towel

sunscreen lotion

insect repellent lotion

sunnies

camera

 How to get to Taal Volcano from Manila? 

  1. From MRT Taft station, take a bus or van going to Nasugbu Batangas. Ask the driver to drop you off at Rotonda/circle in Tagaytay. From Rotonda, you have 3 options: rent a van for Php 2000, rent a tricycle for Php 800 or take a jeepney going to Tanauan, Batangas public market. From there you can take another jeepney going to Talisay for Php 20+ The road from Ligaya drive to Talisay is kinda narrow, expect a bumpy but fun zigzag ride. 
  2. Once you reach the shoreline of Taal lake, you need a boat ride going to Taal volcano (Php 1500 roundtrip- good for 4 persons). The first time we went there they charged us Php 1800, if they charge you that much, walk away and wait for them to chase you and drop the price. ;-)
  3.  There is a docking fee of Php 20 per boat and tourist fee of Php 50. From there you can either trek or ride a horsey horsey. Horse ride is Php 500, if you want a guide, additional Php 250. 

You can either walk, or ride a horse. It will take 40 to 60 minutes to reach the top

Look! I found a red rock!

The highest peak in Taal. Feel the rocks but be careful though, its freakin' hot!

 So steep! I'm so scared to walk coz I slipped a few times. You'll also see carvings on the red rocks like "Mike hearts Bruno" <3

 

Taal volcano is scary but fun to explore! When you look down, you will see some part of the water is boiling. It's like if you fall there, you'd get cook you instantly! I think some people are allowed to go down the crater with a permission from the government. 

I've seen on TV long time ago, the TV host cooked eggs in the crater. I'm not kidding yo! (I can't find the youtube link to prove it to you) But he went to Taal volcano to feature Stegodonts (ancestors of elephants and mammoths), they were said to exist during the Pleistocene Era but were completely wiped out when Taal volcano erupted. Experts retrieved Stegodont tusks in the area that further proved their existence. You see, you learn so many things from travelling. ;-)

How about you guys, have you climbed an active volcano? :-D


Sort:  

This post has been upvoted & resteemed by @teamphilippines . Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

thanks man! :-)

Really like those photos. @pinaynomad

I'm glad you liked it! :-)

I'd love to go there someday. It looks amazing! ❤ Thanks for sharing.

Vulcan point has been popular since Atlas Obscura and Thrillist wrote an article about it. You'd love it there. Just put some sun screen so you won't get toasted. :)

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you so much for creating this. You inspired me truly. Now I know where I want to travel to next

Namaste :)

O wow thank you so much. Bookmarked it for future use :)

I would love to be your tour guide in case I'm still here in the Ph. Just hit me up since I've been traveling around. :))

O wow how helpful and amazing are you?! :) Absolutely I have learned the universe works in funny ways so I will let it guide me. Namaste

Wow, this is so cool! Climbing a volcano is on my bucket list as well- although I want to see some lava!

Hey hey! I don't think the local officials will allow people to climb a volcano if they're seeing lava. :-)

Laaaaame! That would be the best part. I think you can see flowing lava in Hawaii, maybe? Now I need to go google....

haha! Ya probably in Hawaii. But I bet you can only see it from afar. :D

I don't know how close I would want to get to flowing lava lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52