Lake Nokoué and Ganvie (Republic of Benin, West Africa)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

While normally my posts are mostly narrative, with this post I thought I would try a different approach. The below pictures were all taken by me at lake Nokoué in the Republic of Benin. Benin is an amazing, be it poor country in West Africa and for me, hopefully, my future home, if I'll ever manage to structurally get enough of my monthly income from location independent work, at least. I have strong ties to this amazing country through my marriage, mostly, and would love to move there one day with my wife and kids. But first, I do need to desperately step up my mastery of the French language and possibly learn some basic Fongbe and Yoroba.

There are many amazing places to visit when in Benin, but for anyone planning a trip there, I think lake Nokoué and the lake village of Ganvie should be at the top of your list. It is relatively close to the Cotonou airport, so you could probably fit in a one day visit to Ganvie on your way back from Ghana, Nigeria, Togo or Cameroun.

So that's the end of my narrative here. I'll keep it short and let the photos speak for themselves.

100_3206.jpg

100_3111.jpg

100_3116.jpg

100_3133.jpg

100_3142.jpg

100_3186.jpg

100_3120.jpg

Sort:  

That first picture got me confused.... Are they carrying those reeds by boat to build a house or something?

          Those were some pretty cool pictures, I loved the boat with all the tall thash or grass or tiny tiny trees. And the last one the kids seem to be have a really good crack up fun time. I think thought that I would be a little bit worried about crocodiles, but then again maybe not, I mean I don't worry to much about the bears, coyotes, and wolves in Alaska, so could get used to them I guess.

Never been in Africa, but looks very interesting. Mybe my next trip? Upvoted ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82