Vehicle & landscape photography: the beautiful airport of Guatemala City

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I decided to combine two of the former (and very popular) photo contests hosted by @juliank as I have some cool photos that I have not published here on Steemit yet and they would make good entries to both the vehicle and landscape photography contests.

I took the following photos at the Aurora International Airport in Guatemala City in September 2017. I have already been to quite a lot of airports and to me, most of them are kind of boring as they pretty much look the same. This one in Guatemala, however, was different. The skyline of the city seems to be unusually close to the airport (the center of Guatemala City is actually just 6.4 km or 4 mi away) and at the same time, you can also see silhouettes of some majestic mountains towering behind the city.

IMG_20170910_100005.jpg

IMG_20170910_113052.jpg

IMG_20170910_113122.jpg

We had a few hour layover at the airport so we decided to leave the main building and explore the surroundings and to our surprise, the peripheral part of the city started just a few steps outside of the airport. We visited some local shops with traditional Mayan artworks and even a little art exhibition and we were really tempted to head out to the city center as it appeared to be very close but eventually, we decided to come back to the airport, not to risk missing the connecting flight.

The view from the airplane was actually not bad either.

IMG_20170910_073213.jpg

IMG_20170910_073236.jpg

I only spent a couple of hours in Guatemala City that day but I must admit I was really impressed by the beauty of this place. The bright green mountains rising over the dense tropical forests full of exotic wildlife as well as ancient Mayan monuments looked very enticing from the airplane and I promised myself I will come back one day to spend more time in this extraordinary country and see what it really has to offer.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Great shots!
Even buildings on top of the mountains, that must be a spectacular view!

Yeah, I really want to go back there to check it out :)

Kks pekne fotos...skoda ze si neprilozil aj nejake z mesta, dufam ze nabuduce :)

To iste bolo inak aj v Delhi, tri kroky z letiska a instant trubenie, tuktuky a pobehujuce deti

Posted using Partiko Android

Z města toho moc nemáme, ale zkusím něco pohledat ;)

Tak Indie to je asi jiný level - tam je problém najít metr čtvereční bez lidí :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=vehicle-and-landscape-photography-the-beautiful-airport-of-guatemala-city


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63