Street Photography: the majestic Prince´s Palace of Monaco at night (and by daylight)

in #travel6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Through my entry for today´s #streetphotography contest hosted by @juliank, I would like to show you a very interesting place that I visited during my trip to the French Riviera a couple of years ago - the monumental Prince´s Palace of Monaco.

It is no secret that I still take photos just with my cell phone and while most images taken in good light look pretty decent, my night shots usually suck. Therefore, I have published few night photos on Steemit so far but I am going to make a little exception today as the shots of the palace shrouded in darkness turned out unusually well (at least by my standards :D).

IMG_20151023_071515.jpg

So what is this interesting building? Built as early as in 1191, originally as an ancient Genoese fortress, the Prince´s Palace of Monaco is the official residence of the Prince or Princess of Monaco.

IMG_20151023_065426.jpg

The palace is known for its unusual location - it was built into a rocky promontory, right above the natural harbor of Monaco. Considering its remarkably long and turbulent history, it comes as no surprise that the palace was attacked and besieged by many different forces throughout the centuries.

Yet (after numerous reconstructions of course), this magnificent piece of architecture has survived to become of one of the most iconic landmarks and tourist attractions of the tiny city-state of Monaco.

For a better perspective and sense of scale, I am also adding one shot of the palace that I took in a broad daylight later that day (the first two images were taken very early in the morning). As far as I remember, I took this photo shortly after the changing of the guards, a ceremony that always attracts huge crowds of tourists to the palace.

IMG_20151023_120936.jpg

The first photo was also my entry for yesterday´s European Thursday Photo Contest held by @czechglobalhosts. To find out more about his photo contests, visit his blog.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Monaco is a beautiful place for every tourist. Good shot.

They did turn out very well @phortun. I usually have problems with night shots on my phone too.

It's been a long time since I was in Monaco. I'd forgotten about the changing of the guards. 😊

Thanks Gillian :) Yeah, the ceremony was very interesting.

Monaco is a small country,but it is awesome place

That´s right! :)

wao que worderful photos 3 photos de lo mismo excellent te quedaron muy muy buenas

It's a beauty. Beautiful pictures..

Posted using Partiko Android

Could you tell me about the changing of Gaurd...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :)

Great lines in this shot. The building in the background wonderful vivid colors :))

Thanks, glad that you liked that :)

My pleasure!

sus colores son espectadulares

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=street-photography-the-majestic-prince-s-palace-of-monaco-at-night-and-by-daylight


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61152.47
ETH 2665.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55