You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The expeditionist's 8 day itinerary for the Big Island of Hawaii

in #travel6 years ago

Wow! Just wow! I love this post!

First, I love people who are so much eco-friendly and environmentally aware. Hiking instead of renting a car, leaving no trace yourself, picking other people´s trash - this is exactly what I do too! Thank you so much guys, you are awesome! Btw 1: there is an amazing project called @cleanplanet running on the Steem blockchain, feel free to use their tag whenever you "clean planet" ;)

Second, the Hawaii nature is just breathtaking! They say it is similar to that of the Canary Islands where I lived for some time but even though there is actually quite a lot of some similarites, I must admit this looks even more fascinating than what I remember from Tenerife. I must visit this place. Btw 2: there is an amazing project called @travelfeed running on the Steem blockchain, feel free to use their tag whenever you post a superb travel post like this ;)

Sort:  

Thanks @phortun for your comment and pointers to @cleanplanet and @travelfeed.

Didn't know you lived on Tenerife (before this I knew nothing of this island). Cool to see that it is also a volcanic island. Did you ever hike Mount Teide? Sounds like it erupts every couple hundred years.

Tenerife is a wonderful island. Some parts are usually crowded with tourists as the Canaries are a very popular subtropical getaway for people from continental Europe (especially in winter) but there are still large areas of beautiful pristine nature to be found there too. Yes, I have been to Mount Teide, it is an epic hike. The mountain is surrounded by the Del Teide National Park, a spectacular place. I am sure you guys would love hiking the Tenerife mountains. Here are two shots I took on the top and just below the top of Del Teide ;)

IMG_20161107_151808.jpg

IMG_20161107_155205.jpg

Wow. Truly magnificent shots.

Sounds like spring is the best season to hike? But winter is possible ...

I would say spring to fall is all good. In winter, you can have snow in the mountains, from some 2,000 m (6,560 ft) up. I will never forget how I was swimming in the ocean in Puerto de la Cruz in October, enjoying some 30°C (86°F) outside temperature while actually looking at the peak of Del Teide far up in the distance that was covered with snow already. Incredible experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28