Architectural Photography: the magnificent Primatial Cathedral of Bogota

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

As some of you might have noticed in my recent posts, I am currently in Colombia, passing my visa run from Mexico here. I have already been here a couple of days but since I didn´t want to disrupt my regular weekly posts here on Steem earlier this week and I did want to inform your about the Steem Power Up Day yesterday, it was not until today that I can finally post something from Colombia :)

Thursday comes with the Architectural or Structure Photography at @photochallenge so I am submitting two shots of the most impressive architectural piece that we have seen here so far - the magnificent Primatial Cathedral of Bogota.

IMG_20190429_164921.jpg

Officially known as the Metropolitan Cathedral Basilica of the Immaculate Conception, this majestic Neoclassical Roman Catholic church is located on the famous Bolivar Square in the center of Bogota. Occupying approximately 5,300 sq m (over 57,000 sq ft), the Primatial Cathedral of Bogota is the largest cathedral in the county and one of the largest in all South America.

IMG_20190429_162641.jpg

A lot of prominent squares in big cities all over the world have abundant populations of (super tame) pigeons but the number of the birds on the Bolivar Square is just insane. You can even buy special feed for the pigeons from local vendors and let the gigantic flocks of the birds come to you and even on you. I saw people literally covered with the pigeons from heads and shoulders down to their knees and feet. It did remind me of the Pigeon Lady from Home Alone 2: Lost in New York :)

Thank you @gabeboy for hosting @photochallenge!



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=architectural-photography-the-magnificent-primatial-cathedral-of-bogota


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

thanks for share your beautiful photography. just wow ❤💜

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a 15.75 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52