Travel blog #3: St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican City!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey Steemians,

Last year during the summer I went to the Vatican City, one word: heaven! I took this picture in the Papal Basilica of St. Peter in the Vatican (Italian: Basilica Papale di San Pietro in Vaticano), or simply St. Peter's Basilica (Latin: Basilica Sancti Petri), is an Italian Renaissance church in Vatican City, the papal enclave within the city of Rome.
Rome_gold.jpg
Inside the church of St. Peter's Basilica

This place is designed by Donato Bramante, Michelangelo, Carlo Maderno and Gian Lorenzo Bernini. I stayed at a hotel next to the St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican, the budget of the hotel was not that expensive, around 100 euro (120USD) a night. Early in the morning during a hot day around 34 degrees (93 Fahrenheit) I woke up around 8 to prepare for the tour of St. Peter's Basilica, normally you can wait in front of the St. Peter's Basilica, but you could only see the church and upstairs of the Dome, if you would pay around 50 euro (60USD) you could take a tour guide, mostly they are standing in front of the building of St. Peter's Basilica to promote their tour. If you take this tour they will walk with you to the headquarter of their work office, and there you could buy your ticket. Once you bought the ticket, mostly the first tour which I took at 9:30 AM you will go with a group (around 50 people) you walk into the Vatican City (they will not check your passport). Once you are in the building of the St. Peter's Basilica there is a security check, for example I could not take my tripod with me, I had to put it there at the service desk, you can pick it up after the tour. Once the tour started you will walk through whole St. Peter's Basilica, they are telling you a great story about the history, whenever you had a question you could always ask the tour guide.

IMG_7505.jpg
During the tour guide, walking with the group, behind me there is the St. Peter's Basilica

IMG_7519.jpg
Sculpture during the tour

20170805_110340.jpg
Art work, picture took during the tour

20170805_110349.jpg
The eyes were following me, it looks like real

20170805_110526.jpg
The whole building is full of art!

At the end of the tour you will go into a room which Michelangelo painted, when I walked into that room I was just speechless, it was so beautiful, the whole architecture behind it was just insane. We could enjoy the view of Michelangelo's art!

20170805_112913_032.jpg
Art work from Michelangelo

20170805_113630_002.jpg
Art work from Michelangelo

After the tour we were standing in front of the St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican City, I went into the church and walked around.
20170805_115438.jpg

IMG_7667.jpg
Took a shot of my uncle in the church of St. Peter's Basilica

afterwards you could go from behind to go upstairs of the St. Peter's Basilica and enjoy the view of the whole city. I forgot how much the tickets costed, I think around the 6 or 12 euro. There were 551 steps in total to go up, during a hot day and really stuffy inside, it feels just like a heavy work out, but once you are standing there it's just breathtaking!

20170805_123236.jpg
Information about the building

IMG_7575.jpg
Halfway of the way going to the top, amazing art work, but I had no wide angle lens to capture everything..

IMG_7604.jpg
View of Vatican!

Afterwards I went downstairs and realized that I am not dreaming, the St. Peter's Basilica is just heaven..
IMG_7672.jpg
Front of the St. Peter's Basilica

During that time I was an amateur photographer, didn't know much about photography, the pictures are not the best, but I still want to share with you! I will definitely visit Rome/Vatican once again, I have been to many places in my life, but Vatican is one of my most beautiful places where I have been so far.

I hope you guys liked my post, don't forget to upvote if you like this post and leave a comment behind of what you think! Have a nice day you all!

  • PhongTheCreator

P.S. The next time I won't forget to take my neutral density filter with me, because it's too harsh light, lesson learned! 😜

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @phongthecreator to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow. Beautiful buildings. I dream of visiting the Vatican. The art work is absolutely amazing. I can only imagine how it must feel to stand there among it all. Thank you for sharing. Blessings

I couldn't even believe my own eyes, it's just soo beautiful, definitely worth it to go to Rome at least for a week! There is so much things to do. I only went for 3 days, but in my view I only have seen like 10% of Rome.. I will definitely go to Rome again, one of the most beautiful destinations! I also want to thank you for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57