First Friday Bixby Knolls

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Long Beach, California, has been my home for the last 4 years and I have to say that nothing compares to this city in all of California. It's a land of opportunity out here. I grew up hearing about what New York was like in the 70s-80s where anything could happen and people of all colors and classes were in the same place looking for their chance at success. Of all the places I've been in California, only Long Beach really compares to that American Dream, my American Dream.

I'm not gonna lie. When I first arrived I was unemployed and unable to get back into school. I moved here because there was a homeless veterans program that was willing to give me an alternative to living in my parent's garage. I had a bicycle, clothes, and that was it. I was never more aware of my privilege of growing up in Orange County than when the first thing I noticed about Long Beach was how it reminded me of the ghettos from Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. I felt like I should be looking to jump some ramps and expected at every turn for someone to shout "Yo CJ!"

But there was more to this town than a recovering ghetto. The downtown area booms with business and fun. The nicer areas have rent costs that are more reasonable than anything you can find in LA or OC. You have an abundance of diversity every which way. The beach area is great for exercise or relaxing with a view. There's also events and gatherings that allow just about anyone to connect and make friends.

The main feature of this post is about one of my favorite events in LB, First Friday in Bixby Knolls. If you're touring Long Beach, First Fridays is a fun event you will miss out on if you don't look for it. On the first friday of every month, around the intersection of Carson and Atlantic, the locals come out to see food, art, dance, music, and even animals free and open to the public along Atlantic.

Food

Imgur

Sweet and Saucy Shop

Sweet and Saucy Shop is a local dessert shop that aims to create custom sweets that look as good as they taste. A stroll by their table will make it next to impossible to resist trying something from it.




Imgur

Long Beach Creamery

This ice creamery is INCREDIBLE! The prices are high, but the flavors are nuanced and flavorful enough to give Ben and Jerry a run for their money. You can often find their table at First Fridays where you can sample and buy some of their most popular flavors, such as Burnt Caramel and Whiskey Vanilla. At the store off of Long Beach Blvd and Carson, they also have vegan sorbets for those trying to avoid milk. Every flavor they create tickles the imagination and delivers beyond expectation. Warning: if you have a problem with being addicted to icecream, STAY AWAY! As for me, I can quit whenever I want ;)




Imgur

Rasselbock

Pass on by the German bar, Rasselbock, to get a taste of their pretzel and consider washing it down with a German beer. A new venue on this block, Rasselbock is a welcome addition to the variety or restaurants on Atlantic. Not everyone gets to say, "I feel like getting German tonight," in their home town. Here's two of their beers that I tried back in May along with a burger that was delicious.
Imgur Imgur




Imgur

Long Beach Beekeepers

The Long Beach Beekeepers also had a stand at First Friday. Complete with honey sticks for sale, and bees!






Stateside Crafts

Imgur
For me, First Friday is not complete without a visit to Stateside Crafts. The above flight was less than $11 with the option to purchase a cider and/or a sour that is also on the menu on any given night. The owner is a certified Cicerone who selects the best in craft beers of every variety. Ask him anything and he'll tell you all about craft beer as he serves you. His passion for craft and service will not disappoint. Here are my untappd checkins of the beers that were lined up on First Friday this month:
Imgur Imgur
Imgur Imgur

Art

On First Fridays, art is everywhere you look, from the kind you can just look at to the kind you can easily purchase and take home with you. I'll let the limited shots I took speak for themselves to give you an idea of what you can expect to find.
Imgur Imgur
Imgur Imgur
Imgur Imgur

This next piece was bought by a friend of mine from a local artist you can check out, Ethan "Kong" Hightower
Imgur


Dance

Taeao Na Lua

Street performers are everywhere on First Fridays. Among the most impressive is the Polynesian dance group, Taeao Na Lua. The name means, "When two become one." Here are some videos of what I got to see of them this month.


Music

That Cover Band

You know, That Cover Band. You don't? Well, they are pretty active in LB. They cover classics from the 60s-90s and can really liven up a place. Here's a song you might recognize:




Janie

As I strolled on by this band, Janie, I tried my hand at making a small video of them. Instinctively, I thought my phone would auto-rotate, which it didn't. Still, I think the technique was fitting and that Janie would appreciate it.




Tian Musica

Tian is undoubtedly an up and coming star. My only regret is not having the chance to record his cover of Creep by Radiohead. The man's voice is incredible. I'd pick him for my team on The Voice without a second thought.
https://www.facebook.com/tianmusicaoficial/videos/1483725241665633/
Imgur


The Reincarnates

The Reincarnates are another local band in LB. The highlight of my night was having one of their members recognize one of my friends as we were passing through. I seem to have stopped recording before it happened, but the drummer actually jumped over his drum set to hug him like they hadn't seen each other in years.

Animals

In Bixby Knoll we have a reptile pet store as well as a few more traditional pet stores. We also have a friendly affordable veterinarian that I've had the pleasure of caring for my kitten for her regular check ups. So, it's no surprise that such a pet-friendly town would have animals to show off at our monthly event.


Imgur

Reptiles Unlimited

Reptiles Unlimited is a store with a wide variety of exotic pets. On First Friday they were on display to show off these critters to the public.
Sorry about the photobombing guy taking a swig, lol. Growing pains of a starting blogger with no photography skills.


And finally, KITTENS!!!!!

Imgur Imgur
Unfortunately I was in too much of a hurry to catch the organization that was putting these fuzzy shrimp up for display to find a home. I'll edit and update this post with any new information as it comes.



And there it is, First Friday of Bixby Knolls, my favorite monthly event in Long Beach, California. Hope you enjoyed this post. Please feel free to correct me on anything I missed and to give me feedback on this, my first attempt to blog about travel/events.


Credit: Photos and videos are my own work. Alterations were made using Prisma app. Videos and pictures were created with my samsung Galaxy s7

Disclaimer: The people and logos depicted here did not authorize, sponsor, or in any way associate with the creation of this post. These are my own independent opinions and observations in Long Beach.

Disclaimer to UpVote and Follow Swappers: I will not upvote or follow just because you did the same for me. What I will do is take a look at your work if you are respectful in your request for me to do so. If I like it, I'll up vote it. If I like you, I'll follow you. I only ask for the same in return. If I could, I would reject the upvotes and follows from swappers because those are insincere. Please read my work and get to know something about me that you like before you upvote or follow. The reason for this is that trading upvotes and follows without any respect for content is hacky. If you don't appreciate content, this is not a good space for you to be working in. You shouldn't be working in ANY entertainment space if you don't respect the content. Go back to scalping tickets on ebay or something. Just spare me your penny for a lie.

Sort:  

Great post ;)

I live in Long Beach too, damn great city!

following!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Woot! Thank you so much for the support!

It really is. I hate it when I end up missing one.

Hey!!

Very nice event presentation. I love how spontaneous The Reincarnates are! Seems like they are really enjoying playing together.

Right? Those guys really know how to have fun.

great post. Thanks for sharing

No problem. Glad you liked it!

Sun may rises in the east but settles in its final location... Californication

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63