Visiting Magnetic Island Queensland Australia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi Dear Stemmit community,

After stopping to Airlie Beach and Whitsunday Island where I spent some days (I have already shared previously and of course I keep suggesting to you to visit if you come to Queensland). Now I sharing with you my visiting of Magnetic island located 8km from the city center of Townville, the largest city in the northen Queensland. Just twenty minutes ferry ride away from the mainland to go to a naturally beautiful place.

CIMG1508.JPG
(Photo taken from the Castle hill lookout in Townsville)

The island is the traditional homeland of the Wulgurukaba people. They have firstly lived here and in the nearby mainland for thousands of years untill Europeans forced to move them off. Nowadays only a small community of Wulgurukaba people returned to this island.

Scan.jpg
(Map of the island I brought from the visitor center)

Most of the Island is a protected area, managed by Queensland Parks, Wildlife Service and Wulgurukaba people under an agreement. The adjacent reefs and water are marine park. The entire island and the surrounding waters are part of Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area.

From the arrival I head to Arcadia and follow the red line on the map till the Forts Junction.

CIMG1468.JPG

I did not rent that pink roofless car. But I found funny ask taking a photo of me with that. I did not rent nor drive it. I mostly walked around the island.

CIMG1470.JPG

It was extremely hot otherwise it would be very difficult without enough water (I risked to run out of water and was not very good) I did not care I kept walking and on the way I found what beautiful I had to expect.

CIMG1502.JPG

A koala sleeping with a baby on a tree. Firstly I was worried about stroke her because I did not want to wake them up and I was not in a sanctuary or conservation area for koalas.

P1130940.JPG

It was the first time I met koala so closely in the wild even with a baby. It was amazing wasn't it? Well I changed my mind also thanks to people I met on the way. They suggested to me to not worry and they stroked them so did I. It was funny exactly like when I cuddle a koala in Lone Pine Koala sanctuary in Brisbane.
Once I reached the forts I took a short detour to the to searchlight tower another World War II relic .

CIMG1491.JPG

I enjoyed watching the different and stunning views of the island.

CIMG1488.JPG

I came back through the walking track and turn on the red walking track (the one in the map) to discover firstly Horseshoe bay and then on sequence Balding, Radical, Gowrie, and Arthur Bay.

CIMG1471.JPG

CIMG1486.JPG

CIMG1504.JPG

The beaches and the walking tracks were almost empty I did not find people as you can see in my photos August is great to visit Queensland if you love relax and avoid the wet season. From north-east part of the island I head back to Arcadia and Nelly Bay. I kept going to Picnic Bay via boardwalk. Climb to Hawkings Point and see the view from the top of the massive boulder. Unfortunately I were not able to take further photos because I ran out of battery in my camera that's a pity.
After this a day walking (well sometimes I caught also the bus but still I walked for kilometers), I had caught the ferry and went back to Townsville where I had my accomodation.

If you travel around Queensland visiting this island at least for one day it is a must. Hope you like it and you visit it.

Thanks for your attention I wish you great trips!

(All photos are mine and they were taken with my camera Casio EX-Z60 except from the map of Magnetic Island)

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Thanks for sharing the great photos and info about Magnetic Island.

No worries mate are you living in Oz if yes which part of that ?

I live in Tasmania but started life Northside of Brisbane. Last time i went to Magnetic island was about 25 years ago and we hired a mini moke to tour around.

I see I lived for two years in Australia through working holiday visa my first spent in Victoria. the second one mostly in Sydney and for almost three months I travelled around the continent including Tasmania.

Hope you had a great time here in Australia.

Yes Thanks I had great time. In particular in those three months :) . I did my best to visit it as much as possible.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-magnetic-island-queensland-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

a very pleasant travel story to watch. I really like the streets, but it is impossible for now. @philfreetotravel

Looks great and there are koalas!!! I must goo (:

Thanks! You should go if you have chance to travel to Australia

Great blog post!
And that car... 😂
I want to visit this beautiful country in the near future, too!
Thanks for sharing your impressions!

Thanks a lot. Hope one day you will be able to visit such beautiful country!

Nice . I love magnetic island. Would love to spend some time there on a sail boat.

I think so I spent three days and two nights in Whitsundays Islands and it was a great experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76