Visiting Lone Pine Koala sanctuary Brisbane Australia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi dear Stemmians

Today I bring you to Lone Pine koala sanctuary. The world largest one situated twenty minutes approximately from the central business district of Brisbane Queensland.

CIMG1029.JPG

If we are talking about Australia what is the collective imagination? What people born overseas and not in Australia firstly think of it? I mean what is Australia mostly famous for? The first thing (or maybe one of the firsts) coming on our mind are the native fauna. I was one who thought as this collective imagination. An imagination (actually I dream since I was child) who had become real. To cuddle the most iconic in Australia.
An animal that a local aboriginal tribe named koala, which means “the one who does not drink”. In fact this herbivore marsupial eats only leaves of eucalyptus.

CIMG1057.JPG

To be honest I was worried about its nails could spoil my clothes but it does not happen because the koala was very well trained.

CIMG1030.JPG
(Map of Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary)

Not many koala sanctuary or reserves allow to cuddle this cute animal. Obviously is not the only attraction for the guests.

CIMG1074.JPG

I had the chance to see a Koala sleeping with her baby on the tree.

CIMG1051.JPG

Kangaroo which laid down on the grass with her baby inside her pouch.

CIMG1040.JPG

Koalas who are eating their leaves. They have a funny and unique call.

Or sometimes when they argue with each other or even fight. ( Here I did not see anything like that but I heard that could happen).
Here I also found information about the oldest koala ever lived in captivity was a very interesting surprise.

CIMG1071.JPG

Australia has a wide range of native and unique fauna which cannot be included all in this sanctuary. But still the guests could have a great experience from this visit.

Watching wombats which are different than koalas but they also belong to the native marsupials of Australia

CIMG1036.JPG

CIMG1052.JPG

CIMG1053.JPG

The Dingo, a wild yellow dog living in the Australian mainland and its some smaller islands like Fraser Island.

CIMG1059.JPG

About some species I have never heard them before coming to this sanctuary the laughing kookaburra

CIMG1063.JPG

CIMG1065.JPG

The Cassowary a beautiful and colourful bird native of the state of Queensland

CIMG1070.JPG

CIMG1068.JPG

More famous is the only carnivourous marsupial in the whole country named "the devil " and native of the island Tasmania.

CIMG1066.JPG

Walking around the sanctuary I found also animals which apparently look like bats but they are not.

CIMG1076.JPG

Now I show the reason why they are not bats.

CIMG1075.JPG

To whom is coming to Australia and wants to cuddle a koala, this sanctuary is a must.
To see kangaroos and/or koalas with their babies around the wild is not easy and expected.
I feel very blessed to have seen another time a koala with their own babies, ( I will show you in one of the next posts) and only one time a kangaroo with her baby here in this sanctuary.

I also am glad to share this positive experience with you hope you will have many positive like that or similar.

For further information please fell free to check the offical link of the sanctuary as below
https://koala.net/en-au/

All photos and videos are mine and they were taken with my camera Casio EX-Z60

Thanks for your attention

See you in the next post

Sort:  

Awww...you got to hold a Koala! Lucky you! They are such cute creatures. This looks like such a fun place. I agree, Australia has the best of animal life. Would love to see kangaroos and penguins in their natural habitat.

Thank you for your comment! It would have been a shame almost one year in Victoria and almost one year in Sydney and not going to visit some part of continent. Only few reserves in Australia allows to cuddle koalas. To see penguins only in the southern part of Australia. I watched only twice one in Philipp Island and one in St.Kilda Melbourne. But Kangaroos are found almost anywhere in the continent.

Totally amazing animalitos . I guess it was really dream coming true to hold a koala, at least it would be for me :)

Thanks for your comment

Can you believe I have not been here!? Really need to go visit since it isn't far away! Thanks for the post :)

I am surprise but actually you have chance to see animals also in the countryside. In the countryside it will be difficult to cuddle a koala :) :)

Haha ...That's very tue :)

I also want a koala hug, I envy u!

Hope you will have more than one of these hugs. Thanks for stopping by watching my post :)

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-lone-pine-koala-s-sanctuary-brisbane-australia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi phil
Nice bear you look hppy with it. Great post thanks for sharing because I have never to Australia before.
Thanks for upvoting my post just now.
Have a really good day phil.

I see Koala, I upvote. Simple as that! Thanks

Congratulations @philfreetotravel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I absolutely love wombats.. they remember me on monchichis... =)

I also didn't know, what Koala means, thank you for this knew knowledge.. 😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45