You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mistmatched Travel Diaries - San Francisco - Remembering The Unknown Soldier - A Graveyard In The Sunset.

in #travel6 years ago

In the concentration camp in Oswiecim Poland (Auschwitz) there is a quotation of a philosopher The one who forgets the history is bound the live through it again. I would simply mean visit also location like the one in your post is definitely useful to realize and to not forget.

Sort:  

Its impossible to forget, especially after visiting a place like that. I live a few kilometers from Dachau and it is both a necessary and brutal place to visit. I haven't had the chance to visit Poland, or Auschwitz, but I do have an old whisky bottle from Oświęcim, pre-WW2, which my girlfriend happened upon at a market last year. Before that, I had never thought of a place with such an obvious and dark modern history, having such a rich history before that.

I have not been to Dachau. I have been twice to Mathausen (smaller than Dachau) and once to Oswiecim if you have chance go there to visit it . I lived in Poland nine month I have never heard of old whisky from that part of the country. It sounds really new for me but also very nice and interesting that you shared it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81